Top Recommended Stories

Anandpur Sahib Constituency: Sikh-Dominated Seat to Witness Triangular Contest This Time. Key Facts

Punjab Assembly Election 2022: In 2017, Kanwar Pal Singh of Indian National Congress won the seat by defeating Dr. Parminder Sharma from Bharatiya Janata Party with a margin of 23881 votes. Anandpur Sahib under Rup Nagar district of Punjab State.

Updated: January 30, 2022 4:13 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Victor Dasgupta

All You Need To Know About Anandpur Sahib Constituency
Anandpur Sahib Constituency: Seat go to polls on Feb 20

Anandpur Sahib Constituency, Punjab: The electors of Anandpur Sahib Constituency will cast their ballots on February 20, according to the dates announced by the Election Commission. The assembly constituency is currently held by Kanwar Pal Singh of the Indian National Congress. Anandpur Sahib, popularly known as Anandpur is one of the most sacred cities for the Sikh community as it was home to two of their revered Gurus, Guru Tegh Bahadur Singh and Guru Govind Singh ji. It was at this city that Guru Gobind Singh ji founded Khalsa Panth back in the 17th century. On the electoral front, in 2017, Kanwar Pal Singh of Congress won the seat by defeating Dr. Parminder Sharma from Bharatiya Janata Party with a margin of 23,881 votes.

Also Read:

Anandpur Sahib falls under the Roopnagar district and shares its border with Himachal Pradesh. The city is home to Takhat Sri Kesgarh Sahib, the Third of the five Takhts in Sikhism. According to the dates announced by the poll panel, the counting for Anandpur Sahib Constituency will be held on March 10, 2022. The term of the current assembly elected in 2017 will expire in March.

You may like to read

Zee Opinion Poll Predicts Hung Assembly In Punjab:

Punjab may be headed for a hung assembly with Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerging as the single largest party in the state, predicted Zee News-DesignBoxed Opinion Poll.  As per the pre-poll survey, AAP and Congress are projected to win 36-39 and 35-38 seats respectively in the state, which will vote in single-phase on Feb 20. But despite the lead in vote share, AAP may not win a majority out of 117 seats.

Here’s the complete schedule for Punjab Assembly Polls:

  • Issue of notification: January 21
  • Last date of notification: January 28
  • Scrutiny of nomination: January 29
  • Last date of withdrawal of candidature: January 31
  • Date of poll:  February 20
  • Counting of votes: March 10

2017 Punjab Assembly Election: 

In the 2017 Punjab Assembly polls, Congress won an absolute majority in the state by winning 77 seats and ousted the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party government after 10 years. In a major highlight of the polls, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerged as the second-largest as it won 20 seats in 117-member Punjab Legislative Assembly.

Candidates For 2022 Assembly Election- Anandpur Sahib

  • Kanwarpal Singh (Congress)
  • Nitin Nanda Tarkhan (SAD)
  • Harjot Singh Bains (AAP)


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %
Kanwar Pal SinghINCWinner60,80045.01%
Dr. Parminder SharmaBJPRunner Up36,91927.33%
Sanjeev GautamAAP3rd30,30422.43%
Nutan Kumar Urf Nitin NandaIND4th2,0921.55%
Gurcharan Singh KhalsaBSP5th1,4421.07%
Mohinder SinghCPM6th1,0260.76%
None Of The AboveNOTA7th8580.64%
Pritam Singh BharatgarhIND8th6020.45%
Subhash Chander SharmaPDEMP9th5180.38%
Harbhjn SinghSAD(M)10th5170.38%


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Kanwar Pal SinghINCWinner60,80045.01%23,881
Dr. Parminder SharmaBJPRunner Up36,91927.33%
Madan Mohan MittalBJPWinner62,60049%7,886
Kanwar Pal SinghINCRunner Up54,71443%

2019 Lok Sabha Elections:

In 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Indian National Congress candidate Manish Tewari won from Anandpur Sahib Lok Sabha (MP) Seat with the margin of 46884 votes by defeating Professor Prem Singh Chandumajra from Shiromani Akali Dal.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on