New Delhi, Mar 8: After alleging Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance of step-motherly treatment to Andhra Pradesh, two Telugu Desam Party minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Y S Chaudhary on Thursday resigned from the Union cabinet. Both ministers tendered their resignations to Prime Minister Narendra Modi after meeting him at his official residence at Lok Kalyan Marg in the national capital. [Also read: BJP-TDP Crisis: PM Narendra Modi Calls Andhra CM Chandrababu Naidu] Also Read - BJP Spokesperson Sambit Patra Hospitalised With COVID-19 Symptoms

Talking to reporters after tendering his resignation, Y S Chaudhary said his party, TDP, will continue to be a part of the NDA but not take up any ministerial positions. “I don’t think there is anything wrong in that. I don’t think it’s fair on our part to expect PM to deal with these issues. It’s for the concerned ministries to take up, already considerable amount of time has lapsed,” Choudhary said. Also Read - Virat Kohli Should Divorce Anushka Sharma For Making 'Pataal Lok': BJP Minister Nandkishor Gurjar Gets Trolled For Bizarre Remark

The rift between the alliance partners widened after Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu alleged that the Centre was not paying heed to its request of granting special status after its bifurcation. He added that the Centre also failed on providing funds for projects like the building of state capital Amravati and Polavaram project. [Also read: Allies no Longer Share Good Relation With BJP, Says Shiv Sena]

“I visited Delhi 29 times, requesting the PM to handhold AP, but to no avail. Funds flow for the new capital city and Polavaram project are meagre and promise on railway zone for Vizag remains unfulfilled,” said Naidu.

The party also alleged that finance minister Arun Jaitley failed to fulfill his promises made in Budget. Defending his stance, Jaitley had said the government will provide a status equivalent to special status. “We are committed to giving monetary equivalent of a special status to Andhra Pradesh. We are awaiting a response from the Andhra Pradesh government,” Jaitley said.

On Wednesday night, the TDP announced its decision to exit the NDA government at the Centre, peeved over Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley’s stance on the state’s demand for grant of special category status.

TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, however, did not announce snapping of ties with the BJP and said he would take a call on this later.

The BJP also decided to pull out of the coalition government in Andhra Pradesh after two TDP ministers in the Union Cabinet — Civil Aviation minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju and Minister of State for Science and Technology Y S Chowdary — decided to quit.