New Delhi, July 17: The Bharatiya Janata Party on Tuesday appointed Anurag Thakur as the party’s chief whip in the Lok Sabha. Thakur replaced Rakesh Singh, who was recently made Madhya Pradesh BJP president and is busy with election strategy in the poll-bound state. Also Read - On BJP's Free Vaccine Promise in Bihar Poll Manifesto, EC Says 'Not Violative of Model Code'

“Prime Minister Narendra Modi has appointed three-time Lok Sabha MP Thakur as the BJP’s new Chief Whip in the Lok Sabha,” Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar told reporters. Also Read - Kulgam Killing: Coward Pakistanis Will Pay Heavy Price, Each of Them Will be Neutralised, Says J&K BJP Chief

Son of former Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, Anurag Thakur has been President of the BJP’s youth wing Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha. Also Read - 3 Local BJP Leaders Killed by Militants in Kashmir’s Kulgam, Resistance Front Claims Responsibility

The Minister said that Rakesh Singh had earlier urged the party to relieve him of the post as he would be busy with organisational work in Madhya Pradesh where Assembly polls are due this year.

Rakesh Singh was appointed the Chief Whip in 2016 after Arjun Ram Meghawal was made the Minister of State for Finance in a Cabinet reshuffle.

The monsoon session is slated to end on August 10.