New Delhi: A special CBI court on Wednesday sentenced National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) founder Ranjan Daimary and nine others to life in the 2008 Assam serial blasts case. The verdict came two days after the conviction of 14 in the case. The remaining four have served their sentence and paid fine in the case.

On October 30, 2008, 11 serial blasts across four districts of Assam had killed 87 people and injuring 540. The CBI took over the case the same year.

Prime accused Daimary was arrested in Bangladesh and handed over to India in 2010. He was released on bail in 2013 and is currently participating in peace talks with the government.

Three other convicts – Prabhat Bodo, Jayanti Basumatary and Mathura Brahma – will be released after they pay a fine imposed by the court.

The CBI court has ordered the release of Nilim Daimary and Mridul Goyary as they have already served their sentence. Daimary and 14 others were convicted on Monday under various sections of the IPC.

The NDFB chief’s bail was cancelled immediately after his conviction and arrested, while the 14 others were already in judicial custody.

The others convicts are George Bodo, B Tharai, Raju Sarkar, Anchai Bodo, Indra Brahma, Loko Basumatary, Khargeswar Basumatary, Prabhat Bodo, Jayanta Bodo, Ajay Basumatary, Mathuram Brahma and Rajen Goyary. The prosecution appealed for a death sentence for all.

The NDFB, an insurgent group that seeks a separate Bodoland, is split into two factions — Daimary faction and NDFB-Progressive. The two have agreed to hold peace talks with the government. Meanwhile, another faction, NDFB-S, is still active and underground.