Guwahati, May 18: The electoral process in the states of Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, along with the Union Territory of Puducherry has been completed. The results of Assembly Elections 2016 will be declared by the Election Commission tomorrow. The fates of all aspiring candidates would be revealed.Also Read - Assam Lockdown: State Relaxes Restrictions, Allows 200 People At Weddings, Religious Functions | Full Guidelines Here

The counting of votes would begin at 8:00 AM. A total of 126 legislative seats were contested in the state of Assam. Polling was conducted in two phases. The first round of elections were held on April 4, whereas the second phase was held on April 11. Also Read - Bigg Boss 7 Fame Kamya Panjabi Breaks Silence on Joining Politics: 'Not Hungry For Power, Want to Work'

The electoral battle in Assam is a triangular contest involving the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led alliance, pitted against the Indian national Congress and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF). The coalition led by BJP comprises of Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), Rabha Jatiya Aikya Manch and Tiwa Jatiya Aikya Manch. Their chief ministerial candidate is Union Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal. Also Read - He Can Get Me Shot, Says Bihar CM Nitish Kumar on Lalu Prasad Yadav's 'Visarjan' Claim

Meanwhile, Congress decided to move into the polls independently, without forming a pre-poll alliance with any other outfit. Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi had declared incumbent Chief minister Tarun Gogoi as the face of their campaign and their next CM candidate. Would voters repose their faith in Gogoi four the forth time? As per the exit polls, the 79-year-old veteran Congressman is out on his way from Assam. At least three surveys predict a clean majority for the saffron alliance of BJP.

The third factor in this election is the pro-Muslim outfit led by Maulana Badruddin Ajmal. Although, he was projected as the kingmaker in the opinion polls, the fresh exit poll surveys have minimized his impact. Most of them have predicted that Ajmal is likely to lose his clout in this electoral battle, winning between 6-14 seats.

Here are the prediction of Exit Polls:


Political PartiesSeats
Indian National Congress41
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance57
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)18

ABP Nielsen

Indian National Congress33
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance81
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)10


Political PartiesSeats
Indian National Congress27
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance90
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)09

India Today-Axis

Political PartiesSeats
Indian National Congress26-33
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance79-93
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)10