Guwahati, May 19: Results of Assembly Elections 2016 will be declared today. Election Commission of India is set to begin the counting of votes at 8:00 AM. For the electorates in Assam, this would be a historic day, as their votes stored in the ballot boxes would determine whether the Tarun Gogoi-led Congress wins a 4th consecutive term, or the aggressive Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), supported by Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) uproot the incumbent regime.Also Read - Only To Curb Trans-Border Crimes: BSF Says Jurisdiction Increased For CrPC Act, Passport Act

Election in Assam were held in two phases on April 4 and April 11 respectively. All the 126 legislative seats were contested. The primary electoral battle was fought between BJP-led coalition and the Congress. Third factor in the election was Maulana Badruddin Ajmal’s All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF). The perfume baron was expected to make a mark in the polls since the state houses a massive 34 per cent Muslim population which strongly rallies behind the Ajmal. Also Read - Assam TET 2021 Admit Card Likely to be Released Today | Know Steps to Download Here

As per the exit polls, it appears that  Congress and AIUDF contesting separately has largely benefited the BJP-led alliance. The ethnic saffron coalition has succeeded in unifying the anti-immigrant voters. On the otherhand, the Muslim votes got sharply divided between the Congress and AIUDF. Also Read - Assam: Over 30 Students Injured As Hanging Bridge Collapses In Karimganj District

If the predictions of exit polls end up being nearabout accurate, BJP is set to form its government for the first time in the north-eastern state. The party had already declared Sarbananda Sonowal as its chief ministerial candidate.

Results of exit polls for Assam:


Political PartiesSeats
Indian National Congress41
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance57
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)18

ABP Nielsen

Indian National Congress33
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance81
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)10


Political PartiesSeats
Indian National Congress27
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance90
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)09

India Today-Axis

Political PartiesSeats
Indian National Congress26-33
Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance79-93
All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF)10