Assam Panchayat Election Result 2018The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) continued its winning streak in Assam Panchayat polls, marching ahead of its alliance partner Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and closest rival Congress. As per the latest Assam Panchayat Election Result 2018 district wise figures revealed by the State Election Commissioner (SEC) Harendra Nath Borah, the BJP has won 7,540 Assam Gaon Panchayat Member (GPM) seats out of the total 21,990 Assam Gaon Panchayat Member (GPM) seats, while the Congress has bagged 5,896, AGP 1,373 and Independents 2,028. Furthermore, the CPI has won 3, CPI-ML 7, Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) 47 and AIDUF 75. Also Read - COVID-19: BJP MLA Kiran Maheshwari Passes Away, PM Modi Condoles Demise

Adding further, while briefing the media on Friday evening, he said that the counting of votes for Assam Panchayat Election result 2018 was expected to be completed by night and that the process is being delayed because the voting was conducted through ballot papers. “Complete results were out in respect of 28 districts so far while votes counting were still on in Cachar, Dhubri and Silchar,” he was quoted as saying in a report by NorthEast Now. Also Read - PM Modi To Inaugurate Widened NH Stretch, Attend Dev Deepawali in Varanasi Today

The BJP, which recently faced defeat in the Assembly Elections 2018 in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, is also ahead against the Congress in elections held for Assam Panchayat President, Anchalik Panchayat Members and Zila Parishad Members. Also Read - Regretting Error: Congress MP Anand Sharma Clarifies After Praising PM Modi's Visit to Vaccine Facilities

Out of the 2,199 Assam Panchayat President seats, the BJP has bagged 868, Congress 645, AGP 110, AIUDF 106, Independents 150, BPF 2, CPI-M 1. So far, results for 1181 seats have been declared.

In Anchalik Panchayat Members election, the BJP is leading with victory on 883 seats. The party is followed by the Congress which has bagged 645 seats, Independents 124 and AIDUF 117. The results for 1,860 posts out of the total 2,199 are out.

The saffron party is also leading in Zila Parishad Members post election. Out of the total 420 seats, it has won 181 so far. Meanwhile, the Congress has bagged 122, AGP 15, Independents 14 and AIUDF 15. The results for 347 seats were out by Friday evening.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal in a press release on Friday said that the people in the Barak to Brahmaputra valleys, plains and hills of Assam spontaneously took part in the panchayat elections and results showed that the people have reposed faith on good governance of both the central and state governments. Congratulating the winners, he urged the victorious candidates to strengthen the Panchayati Raj system by delivering public services in a clean and transparent manner.

The first phase of Panchayat elections was held on December 5 in 16 administrative districts of Dhemaji, Lakhimpur, Tinsukia, Dibrugrah, Sivasagar, Charaideo, Jorhat, Majuli, Golaghat, Nagaon, Biswanath, Sonitpur, Darrang, Morigaon, Kamrup Metro and Kamrup, while the second phase was conducted on December 9 in 10 districts of Nalbari, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Dhubri, South Salmara, Goalpara, Cachar, Hailakandi, Karimganj and Hojai.

Over 78,000 candidates are in the fray for polls and 734 were elected uncontested. A total of 82 per cent voting was recorded in the two-phase elections.