New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Saturday thanked voters in Assam for their support to the Bharatiya Janata Party in the recent Panchayat Election. “Over the last few years, the BJP and the NDA family have become the preferred choice of the northeast. We consider it our privilege that we have the honour of fulfilling the aspirations of the northeast and taking the region to new heights of progress,” he said on Twitter. Also Read - Ayodhya All Decked Up For Ram Mandir Bhoomi Pujan, PM Modi to Unveil Plaque to Mark The Occasion | 10 Points

Furthermore, he asserted that the party has immense faith in the state government and its focus on good governance. “I appreciate the entire team of Assam BJP for their excellent work across the state, which has resulted in the party’s wonderful performance. I am sure the ‘karyakartas’ will continue raising issues of public welfare and work towards Assam’s growth,” Modi added. Also Read - UPSC Civil Services Examination 2019 Result Announced: 'Life is Full of Opportunities,' Says PM Modi, Congratulates Qualifiers

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal in a press release on Friday said that the people in the Barak to Brahmaputra valleys, plains and hills of Assam spontaneously took part in the panchayat elections and results showed that the people have reposed faith on good governance of both the central and state governments. Congratulating the winners, he urged the victorious candidates to strengthen the Panchayati Raj system by delivering public services in a clean and transparent manner.

Notably, the BJP has continued its winning streak in Assam Panchayat polls, marching ahead of its alliance partner Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and closest rival Congress.

As per the latest Assam Panchayat Election Result 2018 district wise figures revealed by the State Election Commissioner (SEC) Harendra Nath Borah, the BJP has won 7,540 Assam Gaon Panchayat Member (GPM) seats out of the total 21,990 Assam Gaon Panchayat Member (GPM) seats, while the Congress has bagged 5,896, AGP 1,373 and Independents 2,028. Furthermore, the CPI has won 3, CPI-ML 7, Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) 47 and AIDUF 75.

The first phase of Panchayat elections was held on December 5 in 16 administrative districts of Dhemaji, Lakhimpur, Tinsukia, Dibrugrah, Sivasagar, Charaideo, Jorhat, Majuli, Golaghat, Nagaon, Biswanath, Sonitpur, Darrang, Morigaon, Kamrup Metro and Kamrup, while the second phase was conducted on December 9 in 10 districts of Nalbari, Barpeta, Bongaigaon, Dhubri, South Salmara, Goalpara, Cachar, Hailakandi, Karimganj and Hojai.

Over 78,000 candidates were in the fray for polls and 734 were elected uncontested. A total of 82 per cent voting was recorded in the two-phase elections.

(With inputs from agencies)