New Delhi, March 11: It is victory hands down for the Bharatiya Janata Party in the Assembly Elections 2017. The BJP got a clear mandate and registered a landslide victory in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand and was neck and neck with the Congress in Manipur and Goa. BJP President Amit Shah has claimed that even as there is a hung House in Manipur and Goa, the party will form the government in these two states. It is only in the state of Punjab that the party has seen defeat with the Congress sweeping the 117-seat Assembly with over 76 seats. From the results, it is clear that Prime Minister Narendra Modi‘s demonetisation move has not gone against the party, as was being claimed by many experts. The Modi wave that began in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections continues to prevail and has now swept Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

In the 404-seat Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the BJP witnessed a massive historic victory, winning more than 320 seats along with its allies. The mandate has left many stunned as the pollsters had settled for close to 280 seats for the party. Some had even predicted a hung Assembly in Uttar Pradesh. But the Modi wave has defied all of these registering a blitz in the state. A carefully drafted strategy by BJP President Amit Shah and 24 rallies by Prime Minister Narendra Modi indeed made sure the party gets a clear mandate in the state and the workers celebrate early Holi. In 2012, the BJP had just around 40 seats in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly.

Uttar Pradesh
Result Status (ECI)

Status Known For 403 out of 403 Constituencies
Bahujan Samaj Party18119
Bharatiya Janata Party29319312
Indian National Congress707
Rashtriya Lok Dal101
Samajwadi Party45247
Apna Dal (Soneylal)909
Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal011
Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party404

Uttarakhand, too, saw a landslide victory for the Bharatiya Janata Party. Chief Minister Harish Rawat was decimated in the state with the Congress coming down to just 11 seats. The BJP won a whopping 57 seats in the 70-seats Uttarkhand Legislative Assembly. The exit polls had predicted a victory for the BJP in Uttarakhand considering the state was staring at anti-incumbency. The poll pundits have been proven right with Uttarakhand as they had predicted close to 50 seats for the BJP in the state. In 2012, the BJP had 31 seats in Uttarakhand while the Congress got 32 and formed an alliance with the BSP.

Result Status (ECI)

Status Known For 70 out of 70 Constituencies
Bharatiya Janata Party56157
Indian National Congress11011

The Bharatiya Janata Party has claimed victory in Manipur and Goa too even as the two states saw a hung Assembly. The Congress emerged as the single largest party in Manipur with 25 seats. The BJP could gain 21 seats in the 60-seat Assembly. However, BJP President Amit Shah claimed that the party will form the government in the state. The exit polls were proven wrong here too as they had predicted a clear win for the BJP in the state. Meanwhile, Irom Sharmila, who formed a new party during the elections in Manipur, has already announced quitting politics after a huge defeat. It remains to be seen whether the BJP is able to end the economic blockade in the state within 24 hours of coming to power as Shah had promised. It also remains to be seen who the Chief Minister of the state will be after Okram Ibobi Singh.

Result Status (ECI)

Status Known For 58 out of 60 Constituencies
All India Trinamool Congress101
Bharatiya Janata Party20121
Indian National Congress25126
Naga Peoples Front404
Lok Jan Shakti Party101
National People’s Party404

In Goa too, the exit polls seem to have faltered as they had predicted majority for the BJP. The Congress has emerged as the single largest party here too, even as the BJP claims that it will form the government. Goa Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar has resigned after facing defeat on his own seat from Mandrem. While the Congress got 17 out of 40 seats in Goa, the BJP got 13. It will be interesting to see which party goes on to get allies on board and form the government there.

Result Status (ECI)

Status Known For 40 out of 40 Constituencies
Bharatiya Janata Party13013
Indian National Congress15217
Nationalist Congress Party101
Maharashtrawadi Gomantak303
Goa Forward Party303

The Congress stunned in Punjab where the party won 77 seats out of 117. The exit polls faltered majorly here as they had predicted over 30 seats for the first timer Aam Aadmi Party. The AAP could get just 20 seats even as it emerged as the main Opposition in the state. Punjab Congress chief Captain Amarinder Singh, who is also celebrating his 75th birthday today, is set to take over as the next Chief Minister of Punjab. The SAD-BJP combine was reduced to 17 seats in the state.

Result Status (ECI)

Status Known For 117 out of 117 Constituencies
Bharatiya Janata Party303
Indian National Congress76177
Aam Aadmi Party20020
Shiromani Akali Dal15015
Lok Insaaf Party202

While the picture for Punjab is clear, all eyes are now on who will be the Chief Minister in the other four states. In the 2017 Assembly elections, 690 constituencies went to polls in UP, Uttarakhand, Punjab Goa and Manipur. There were 16 crore registered voters in the five states and 1.85 lakh polling stations were set up for the voters who exercised their voting rights in these elections.