New Delhi: The Congress on Sunday will announce the name of next chief minister of Chhattisgarh. A confirmation on the same was given by Chhattisgarh Congress state in-charge, PL Punia on Saturday. Top contenders for the post are – Bhupesh Baghel, TS Singh Deo, Charan Das Mahant and Tamradhwaj Sahu. Rahul Gandhi has been holding hectic parleys with top leaders to decide on the top post for the state, where the party romped home to power after 15 years with two-third majority in the recently concluded Assembly Elections 2018. Also Read - 'I Apologise... Just Forgot the Name': Kamal Nath Explains 'Item' Jibe After Controversy, EC Takes Note

“A meeting will be held at 12 pm tomorrow (Sunday). Then we will inform (Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh). Governor has given us the time of 4.30 pm on December 17 for the oath ceremony. So what’s the hurry?” Punia informed, while talking to reporters. Also Read - Don't Think Gandhi Family Will Take Action Against Kamal Nath for ‘Item’ Remark: Smriti Irani

The Congress president, earlier on Saturday, posted a photograph of himself flanked by all the four claimants to the CM post in Chhattisgarh while quoting American internet entrepreneur Reid Hoffman. “No matter how brilliant your mind or strategy, if you’re playing a solo game, you’ll always lose out to a team,” his post read. A similar exercise was followed before chosing the CMs for Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh as well. Also Read - Dalit Atrocities Have Reached New Zenith, Democracy Passing Through Most Tumultuous Times: Sonia Gandhi Attacks Centre

During the third round of discussion before selecting the chief minister for Chhattisgarh, Gandhi met the four potential candidates for the post on Saturdday at his Tughlaq Lane residence and held discussions with them. Congress’ central observer Mallikarjun Kharge and AICC in-charge for party affairs in Chhattisgarh P L Punia were also present at the meeting. UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra were also present at the Congress chief’s residence, reports said.

The Congress won 68 of the 90 seats in the Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018, ousting Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Raman Singh from power. The saffron party could manage to only bag 15 seats.

On Friday, the Congress named Ashok Gehlot as chief minister of Rajasthan, where the party which won 99 seats has received the support of Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) to reach the majority mark of 100. In Madhya Pradesh, Congress leader Kamal Nath was made chief minister-designate on December 13. The party emerged victorious on 114 seats, two short of the magic figure but got the support by Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) in the state.