New Delhi: Ashok Gehlot, Kamal Nath and Bhupesh Baghel are front runners for the chief minister post in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, respectively, reports claimed a day after Congress pipped the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Assembly Election 2018.

Earlier in the day, Madhya Pradesh Congress leader Kamal Nath and Jyotiraditya Scindia met Governor Anandiben Patel and staked claim to form the government with the support of 122 MLAs, after the party emerged as the single largest party in the state Assembly Election 2018 results by winning 114 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) have extended support to the party in the state.

In Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, the newly elected MLAs met to decide on the CM face for the states. “Whatever the MLAs have to say they will say in the meeting and final decision is left to the Congress president and other party leaders. We will take a call today,” Rajasthan Congress Committee president Sachin Pilot, who won from Tonk in Assembly Election 2018, told reporters, before the meeting.

He also added that the party will stake claim to form the government in Rajasthan in the evening. “We have full majority and will stake claim to form government in the evening. We will take along all non-BJP parties and elected members who are against BJP and are willing to support us,” Pilot told reporters.

While in Rajasthan, the Congress which won 99 seats has received the support of Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) to reach the majority mark of 100, the party sailed through comfortably in Chhattisgarh. It won a total of 68 seats in the state.

The counting of votes in five states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram – began on Tuesday. While the mandate was clear in Telangana and Mizoram with the TRS and MNF easily crossing the majority mark of 106 and 21, respectively.