New Delhi: Single-phase Assembly elections in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and one out of four in Odisha concluded on Thursday by 6 PM. In Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim and Odisha, assembly polls to 175, 32 and 28 seats, respectively, were held simultaneously with Lok Sabha elections 2019 in the first phase. Also Read - Rajya Sabha Election Result 2020: Clean Sweep For Jagan Reddy as YSRCP Wins All Four Seats in Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh: The state went to polls to constitute the fifteenth Legislative Assembly. The voting took place on 175 seats in a single phase to elect the new government. The total voter turnout recorded at 3 PM was 55 per cent. Also Read - Elderly Andhra Woman Arrested For Questioning Govt Over Vizag Gas Leak, Twitter Says 'Democracy At Stake'

A worker from the ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and another of the opposition YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) were killed in violence in Anantapur and Chitoor districts. More than a dozen others including senior TDP leader and Assembly Speaker Kodela Sivaprasad Rao were injured in clashes at various places. Also Read - Your Govt is Humanity Personified: Chandrababu Naidu to PM Modi

Complaints of non-functioning of Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and resultant delay at the start of polling were received from across the state.

Chief Minister and TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu also expressed his unhappiness over EVMs not functioning at several polling booths. He wrote a letter to the Chief Election Commissioner, demanding repoll in 150 booths.

A little over 3.93 crore voters were eligible to vote to decide the fortunes of 319 candidates for Lok Sabha seats and 2,118 candidates for Assembly polls. Authorities set up 46,120 polling stations and deployed nearly four lakh personnel including more than lakh security men.

Chandrababu Naidu, YSRCP president Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, Pawan Kalyan, Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh, Naidu’s brother-in-law and actor N. Balakrishna and state Congress chief Raghuveera Reddy were among the prominent candidates.

In 2014 elections, TDP had bagged 102 seats while its then ally BJP had won four seats. YSRCP had won 67 seats. Two independents were also elected. In the simultaneous elections held for Lok Sabha, TDP had bagged 15 seats while BJP got two seats. YSRCP candidates were elected from eight constituencies.

Odisha:  The state is witnessing a triangular contest between the ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD), the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress. The elections were held for four parliamentary constituencies Kalahandi, Nabarangpur, Berhampur and Koraput and 28 Assembly constituencies, which fall under the Lok Sabha seats on Thursday. 68 per cent was the total voter turnout recorded by 5 PM.

In the first phase, a total of 60,03,707 voters comprising 29,72,925 male voters, 30,30,222 female voters and 560 transgenders were eligible to cast their votes in 7,233 booths.

While 26 candidates are in the fray for four Lok Sabha seats, there are 191 candidates in 28 Assembly segments for the first phase.

The Lok Sabha and Assembly elections will be held simultaneously in Odisha in four phases on April 11, 18, 23 and 29. Counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Arunachal Pradesh: The state is witnessing a triangular contest between the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party, the National People’s Party and Congress.

Current Chief Minister Pema Khadu is leading the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government in the state. However, he changed his affiliations twice after becoming the chief minister. Originally from the Congress party, Kandhu later joined the Peoples Party of Arunachal and eventually became a BJP member.

Voter turnout in the state was 50.87 per cent till 3 PM.

Union Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijju, seeking re-election for the third time from Arunachal West, faced former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki of the Congress, National People Party’s Khyoda Apik and Jarjum Ete of Janata Dal (Secular).

Voting was held for 57 Assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies at 2,202 polling stations. There are 7,98,249 voters in the state.

In the 60-seat current assembly, the running BJP has 36 members, the National People’s Party 16 and Congress 6. There are 2 independent MLAs in the state. Chief Minister Pema Khandu contested from the Mukto assembly seat.

Sikkim: The state underwent polls to elect the 32 members of the Legislative Assembly. Notably, the term of Sikkim Legislative Assembly ends on May 27, 2019.

Sikkim has been a stable state as its Chief Minister Pawan Kumar Chamling of Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) has been ruling the north-east state since 1994. The total voter turnout recorded at 3 PM was 55%.

Chamling has equalled the record of Jyoti Basu for being the chief minister for 5 consecutive terms in any state. Earlier, Jyoti Basu served West Bengal as the chief minister for 5 continuous terms.

The state is largely witnessing a three-way fight between Chief Minister Pawan Chamling’s Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF), former SDF Minister P.S. Golay-led the Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM), and footballer Bhaichung Bhutia’s Hamro Sikkim Party (HSP).

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress are also in the fray in Sikkim, that borders Tibet, Nepal and Bhutan.

With agency inputs