New Delhi: The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) on Friday released list of all 173 candidates for the forthcoming Tamil Nadu Assembly election 2021, retaining most sitting MLAs including seniors Durai Murugan, K N Nehru, K Ponmudi and MRK Panneerselvam– all former ministers, besides others. While DMK President M K Stalin will try his luck once again from the Kolathur constituency in the city, his son Udhayanidhi will make his electoral debut by contesting from the Chepauk-Triplicane segment in the metropolis. On the other hand, in Karnataka, as a reward for successfully implementing the ‘One Nation, One Ration Card’ scheme, the Narendra Modi-led Centre has allowed the BS Yediyurappa government to raise an additional fund of Rs 4,500 crore from the open market. Meanwhile, the northward trend in fresh COVID-19 cases in Karnataka continued with 783 more testing positive, taking the infection count to 9,51,600 as the active cases rose by over 2,000 since this month beginning. Two more deaths took the COVID-19 toll to 12,336, the health department said. According to a bulletin, 9,37,353 people have been discharged cumulatively so far including 406 on Thursday.Also Read - Over 100 Leaders of Global & Indian MNCs Gather to Deliberate ‘The Rise of NextGen Business Services Centres’

Stay tuned to for latest news from Chennai, Thiruvananthapuram and Bengaluru, as we bring you the latest updates on Tamil Nadu and Kerala Elections 2021, lockdown 6.0 and phase 6 of the unlock across the southern cities.  Also Read - Young Couple Found Charred to Death in Car in Karnataka's Udupi

Also Read - Girl Dies After Falling Off 2nd Floor of Mall on Brigade Road in Bengaluru, Friend Injured Too

Live Updates

  • 2:48 PM IST

    Tamil Nadu: Today I’ve filed my nomination from Bodinayakanur. I’ve been a winning candidate for the past 2 times. I’ve done all works in the constituency. People are satisfied with my work so I’ve been given this seat again. I hope this time too people will support me: Dy CM O Panneerselvam

  • 2:32 PM IST
    Tamil Nadu: Deputy CM O Panneerselvam files his nomination as AIADMK candidate from Bodinayakanur.
  • 1:58 PM IST

    Tamil Nadu Election Update: Makkal Needhi Maiam’s Kamal Haasan to contest from Coimbatore South assembly constituency

  • 1:53 PM IST

  • 1:20 PM IST

    Andhra Pradesh: A 16-year-old boy feared drowned at Yarada Beach in Visakhapatnam; Search operation underway, one Coast Guard ship also engaged in the operation

  • 12:57 PM IST

    Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2021: DMK Releases List; MK Stalin to Contest from Kolathur, Udayanidhi from Chepauk