Top Recommended Stories

Bathinda Urban to Witness Tough Battle Between Congress’ Manpreet Badal And His 2 Former Aides

Bathinda Urban is an assembly constituency in Punjab. In 2017, Manpreet Singh Badal of the Indian National Congress won the seat by defeating Deepak Bansal from Aam Aadmi Party with a margin of 18480 votes.

Updated: January 29, 2022 11:24 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Sumaila Zaman

Bathinda Urban
All You Need To Know About Bathinda Urban

New Delhi: Bhatinda Assembly Constituency of Punjab will go to the polls on February 20, Sunday. The seat is currently held by Manpreet Singh Badal of the Indian National Congress.  In the 2017 Punjab Assembly elections, the Congress leader had won the seat by defeating his arch-rival and AAP candidate Deepak Bansal with a margin of 18480 votes.

In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Harsimrat Kaur Badal won from Bhatinda Lok Sabha (MP) Seat with a margin of 21772 votes by defeating Amrinder Singh Raja Warring from Indian National Congress.

You may like to read

Key Candidates This Year

This year, the Vidhan Sabha seat will witness a tough battle between sitting MLA Manpreet Singh Badal (INC), Raj Nambardar (Punjab Lok Congress), Swaroop Chand Singla (SAD), Jagroop Singh Gill(AAP). For the unversed, Nambardar and Gill were considered as aides of Badal. However they turned rebel ahead of polls and decided to contest from different parties.

Zee Opinion Poll Predicts Hung Assembly In Punjab

Punjab may be headed for a hung assembly with Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerging as the single largest party in the state, predicted Zee News-DesignBoxed Opinion Poll.  As per the pre-poll survey, AAP and Congress are projected to win 36-39 and 35-38 seats respectively in the state, which will vote in single-phase on Feb 20. But despite the lead in vote share, AAP may not win a majority out of 117 seats.

Here’s the complete schedule for Punjab Assembly Polls:

  • Issue of notification: January 21
  • Last date of notification: January 28
  • Scrutiny of nomination: January 29
  • Last date of withdrawal of candidature: January 31
  • Date of poll:  February 20
  • Counting of votes: March 10


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Manpreet Singh BadalINCWinner63,94242.24%18,480
Deepak BansalAAPRunner Up45,46230.03%
Sarup Chand SinglaSAD3rd37,17724.56%
None Of The AboveNOTA4th1,2080.80%
Suresh KumarBSP5th9130.60%
Satish KumarIND6th5260.35%
Parveen HiteshiSHS7th4180.28%
Sant LalBMUP8th3820.25%
Bimla RaniIND9th3370.22%
Jatinder Roy KhattarAPPA10th2950.19%
Gian Chand BansalDEMSWP11th2580.17%
Sukhchain SinghHSS12th2120.14%
Harvinder Singh HarrySAD(M)13th1570.10%
Hardeep Kumar SharmaJJJKP14th1050.07%


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Manpreet Singh BadalINCWinner63,94242.24%18,480
Deepak BansalAAPRunner Up45,46230.03%
Sarup Chand SinglaSADWinner62,54646%6,645
Harminder Singh JassiINCRunner Up55,90141%

Date of Polling: February 20, 2022

Result Date: March 10, 2022

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.