New Delhi: The counting for Bhoranj bye-election will begin tomorrow.There are five candidates in the fray but the main contest is said to be between Anil Dhiman of BJP and Promila Devi of Congress. Of the three Independents in the fray, Pawan Chandel and Romesh Dogra are rebels of BJP and Congress, respectively.

Over 63 per cent voting was registered in the bye-election, which took place on April 09. The polling started on April 09 at 8.00 AM but picked up after 10.00 AM and 47 per cent polling was reported till 2.00 PM. The final report of polling at 5.00 pm was 63.26 percent, Chief Electoral Officer Narinder Chauhan had said. Barring reports of some snag in EVMs which delayed voting by an hour, the polling process remained peaceful and no untoward incident was reported from any part of the constituency. Long queues of voters with women outnumbering men were seen at the polling booths during the day.

The seat was formerly held by BJP stalwart Ishwar Dass Dhiman who had won six successive elections from the constituency since 1990. The bye-election was necessitated following Dhiman’s demise in November last year.

Former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, who cast his vote at Smirpur polling station, was confident of a thumping victory for BJP candidate Dr Anil Dhiman. While addressing a rally ahead of bye-election, the former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal had said that he want to celebrate two festivals. “On April 9, the day Bhoranj assembly constituency votes, I want to celebrate Navratras while on April 13, the day of counting  I will celebrate Baisakhi at the booth or sector that polls the highest number of votes for the BJP.”

Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh had also claimed that the Congress would wrest the Bhoranj seat, a party bastion.

(With inputs from Agencies)