Araria, Mar 11: The voting for Bihar Bye-elections 2018 began at 7 AM today, March 11. It will continue till 5 PM on Sunday. The Araria Lok Sabha bypoll 2018 along with Jehanabad and Bhabhua Assembly bye-election 2018 are being seen as a major test for Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-National Democratic Alliance (NDA) combine and Grand Alliance of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and Hindustan Awam Morcha- Secular (HAM-S) ahead of Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Stay tuned with for LIVE Updates on Araria Lok Sabha bye-election 2018, Jehanabad Assembly bye-election 2018 and Bhabhua Assembly bye-election 2018.Also Read - Tripura Election Result: Ruling BJP Sweeps Tripura Civic Polls; Wins All 51 Seats of Agartala Municipal Corporation

The bypolls to Jehanabad and Bhabua assembly seats are being held following the death of sitting legislators from the RJD and the BJP, respectively. The Araria Lok Sabha seat became vacant after the death last year of Mohammad Taslimuddin, the sitting RJD MP. Also Read - Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021: Full List of Winners in Agartala And Other Civic Bodies

In Araria Lok Sabha seat, the RJD has fielded Sarfaraz Alam — son of Taslmiuddin — who was a sitting legislator of the ruling JD-U. On the other hand, BJP has nominated Pradeep Kumar Singh. Also Read - Tripura Municipal Election Results 2021: BJP Gets Landslide Victory, Wins 217 of 222 Seats | Highlights

In Bhabua Assembly seat, the BJP has fielded Rinki Rani Pandey. Meanwhile, the Congress has put up Shambhu Patel. In Jehanabad Assembly seat, the RJD has fielded Uday Yadav. He is competing against JD(U)’s Abhiram Sharma who had won the seat in 2010 when his party was an ally of the BJP.

The counting of votes for Bihar bypolls will be held on March 14.

Live Updates

  • 6:20 PM IST

    The total voter turnout on all three seats in Bihar bypoll is around 54 per cent. 57 per cent voting has been recorded in Araria Lok Sabha bypoll, 50.06 per cent in Jehanabad Assembly bypoll and 54.3 per cent in Bhabhua Assembly bypoll.

    Thank you for staying with us for live updates. For more news and updates, log on to
  • 5:54 PM IST

    Bhabhua Bypoll: Reports say repolling may take place on 23 polling booths on March 13 as EVMs were not working today. Observers are likely to take a decision soon.

  • 5:53 PM IST

    Voter turnout till 5 pm in Bihar bypolls: Araria Bypoll – 57 per cent

    Jehanabad Bypoll – 50.6 per cent
    Bhabhua Bypoll – 54.3 per cent
  • 5:49 PM IST

    Voters who were in queue till 5 pm have been given tokens to cast their vote.

  • 5:31 PM IST

    Voting has ended for bypolls on Araria, Bhabhua and Jehanabad seats.

  • 4:43 PM IST

    Voter turnout till 4 pm in Bihar bypolls: Araria bypoll – 51.02 per cent

    Jehanabad bypoll – 49.3 per cent
    Bhabhua – 51 per cent
  • 4:36 PM IST

    Voter turnout till 3 pm in Bihar bypolls: Araria bypoll – 45 per cent

    Jehanabad bypoll – 45.8 per cent
    Bhabhua – 48.5 per cent
  • 3:17 PM IST

    Bhabhua Bypoll 2018: EVMs not working at 5 polling booths, voters are unhappy as they haven’t been able to vote.

  • 3:16 PM IST

    JDU leader Ashok Chaudhary says NDA will win all three bypolls – Araria, Bhabhua and Jehanabad.

  • 1:02 PM IST

    An elderly woman casts her vote with the help of family members