Patna: Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar chaired a high-level review meeting on September 15 on the prohibition law in the state. Kumar ordered the officials to destroy the stocks of liquor within a period of 15 days which had been seized earlier. He also asked the officials to take immediate action against the police personnel involved.

Kumar directed the official authorities to destroy the liquor stocks by September 30. He added that officials who were indulging and flouting the law had no right to be in service and thereby called for an immediate action against them.

Nitish Kumar acknowledged the fact that liquor was being smuggled into the state though there a prohibition law in place. Talking about how liquor was being smuggled into Bihar primarily from states like Haryana and Arunachal Pradesh, Kumar asked officials to trace the source.

The chief minister was quoted as saying in an official release, “Liquor is also being brought through waterways, especially in districts like Vaishali, Chhapra (Saran) and Patna. District police chiefs concerned should sit together and find a way out.”

Taking cognisance of the liquor problem, Kumar also spoke about the need for monthly review meetings by the DGP, the principal secretary (home), the ADG economic offences wing and the IG (Prohibition). He added that regular meetings will sort out the problems that keep cropping in the prohibition law. He also said that his government will be launching a campaign on October 2, Mahatma Gandhi’s birth anniversary, for spreading awareness regarding the continence of alcohol.

Following the meeting, he asked officials to keep a close watch on those involved in liquor trade before the enforcement of prohibition law in Bihar nearly two years ago.

Chief Secretary Deepak Kumar, DGP KS Dwivedi, Principal Secretary (Home, Prohibition and Excise) Amir Subhani and Principal Secretary to the Chief Minister Chanchal Kumar attended the high-level review meeting. Those who couldn’t attend in person were connected through video conferencing- all zonal IGs, divisional commissioners, DIGs of respective ranges, DMs and SPs.

The Prohibition law was imposed in the state by the Nitish Kumar government in April 2016.