New Delhi: Putting speculations to rest, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), a day after registering victory in Bihar Assembly Elections 2020, made it clear that Janata Dal United (JDU) president Nitish Kumar will be sworn in as the chief minister of the state. Also Read - First Session of Newly-Constituted Bihar Legislative Assembly To Start From Today

Following the Bihar election results, there was speculation of a change in CM’s face as the BJP has dwarfed the JDU in this election. Of the 243 seats in Bihar Assembly, the BJP won 74, taking the National Democratic Alliance’s total tally beyond the majority mark of 122. The JDU was restricted to 43. Also Read - Bihar's New Education Minister Struggles to Recite National Anthem, Trolled on Twitter | Watch

However, Bihar Deputy Chief Minister and senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi cleared that there is no confusion on the CM’s post as Nitish will remain the CM of the state. “It was our commitment. In Indian politics, there are very few CMs whom people trusted for the fourth time. They have given a clear mandate to NDA, there is no confusion”, he stated.

“In an alliance, not all parties win equal number of seats. Who won how many seats is irrelevant, people voted for NDA. BJP played a role in JD(U)’s victory & JD(U) played a role in BJP’s victory. JD(U), BJP, VIP & HAM worked together, then we registered this victory”, he added.

The Deputy CM also thanked the people of Bihar for putting their faith in NDA for the fourth time.

Echoing similar remarks,  Bihar BJP chief Sanjay Jaiswal asserted that PM Modi and party’s national president had announced that Nitish would be the CM of the state. “When they have named him, then there should be no question of deliberations on any other name”, he stated.