Live Updates

  • 2:45 PM IST

    Thank you for staying with all through the liveblog.

  • 2:44 PM IST

    BJD candidate Rita Sahu has is likely to win Bijepur Assembly seat. She has been maintaining a lead against her contenders since the initial rounds of vote count. Till the 20th round, she was ahead of BJP and Congress by over 50,000 votes.

  • 2:36 PM IST

    The counting of vote is underway. Till now, BJD’s Rita Sahu has maintained lead against her contenders from the BJP and Congress.

  • 2:00 PM IST

    After 20 rounds of vote count, BJD’s Rita Sahu gains 10,1,435 votes. BJP candidate has gained 59,896 and Congress’s candidate has bagged 10,153 votes.

  • 1:55 PM IST

  • 1:53 PM IST

    Odisha CM & BJD president Naveen Patnaik on Bijepur Bye-Election 2018 Results: I would like to express my deep gratitude to the people of Bijepur Assembly constituency for having showered their blessings on BJD.

  • 1:46 PM IST

    As BJD candidate Rita Sahu leads with a huge margin of 40,248 votes after 19 rounds of vote count, celebrations erupt at Odisha CM and party president Naveen Patnaik’s residence in Bhubaneswar

  • 1:36 PM IST

    After round 19 of 21, BJD candidate Rita Sahu extends her lead to 40,248 votes over BJP’s Ashok Panigrahi. Congress’s Pranaya Sahu has gained 8,934 votes.

  • 1:13 PM IST

    After round 18/21 – BJD’s Rita Sahu -93,283; BJP’s Ashok Panigarhi -55,015 and Congress’ Pranaya Sahu – 7,914

Bhubaneswar, Feb 28: The counting of votes for Odisha Assembly Bye-Election 2018 began at 8 AM today. Bijepur Bye-Election 2018 Result will be declared by Wednesday evening. The voting for Bijepur Assembly Bypoll 2018 was held on February 24 and a total of 72 per cent voter turnout was recorded. The trends are expected to be out by noon. The seat is all set to see a tough contest between the Biju Janata Dal (BJD), Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Stay tuned with for Live Updates on Bijepur Assembly bye-election 2018 result.

Click Here For Live Updates on Mungaoli Bye-Election 2018 Result

According to reports, the counting process is expected to be completed after 21 rounds. For counting of votes for Bijepur Assembly Bye-election 2018, a total of 14 tables have been kept in place. (Live updates on Madhya Pradesh, Odisha Bye-Election 2018 Results)

In a bid to prevent any untoward incident, a company of CRPF has been deployed in the region. The EVM have been kept under tight vigil at a college in Padampur.

Click Here For Live Updates on Kolaras Bye-Election 2018 Result

A total of 13 candidates are in the fray for Bijepur Assembly seat. Bypoll to Bijepur was necessitated following the death of Congress MLA Subal Sahu.

For Bijepur Assembly Bye-Election 2018, the BJD has fielded Rita Sahu, the wife of Subal Sahu. On the other hand, the Congress has fielded Pranay Sahu from the seat with an aim to claim its stake in Bijepur.