Agartala, March 9: Biplab Kumar Deb on Friday sworn in as the chief minister of Tripura at the Assam Rifles ground on Friday. The ceremony was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, senior Bharatiya Janata Party leaders LK Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi.

It will be the first BJP government in the north-eastern state. Jishnu Debbarma took oath as the deputy chief minister. He is yet to be elected as an MLA as polling in his Charilam (Scheduled Tribe) constituency was postponed due to the death of the CPI(M) candidate. (Also read: All You Need to Know About Biplab Deb)

Former Tripura chief minister Manik Sarkar also attended the ceremony.

The BJP-Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance came to power in the state in the recently-concluded Assembly elections by winning 43 seats in the 60-member House, ending 25 years rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front.

Deb, a long-time RSS volunteer, has been largely credited for the BJP’s turnaround in the state along with senior party leader Ram Madhav and RSS leader Sunil Deodhar.