Agartala, March 9: Tripura Bharatiya Janata Party president Biplab Deb will be sworn in as the chief minister of the state at the Assam Rifles ground on Friday. It will be the first BJP government in the north-eastern state.

The BJP-Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) alliance came to power in the state in the recently-concluded Assembly elections, ending 25 years rule of the CPI(M)-led Left Front. (Also read: All You Need to Know About Biplab Deb)

The BJP had bagged 35 seats and the IPFT eight in the 60-member House.

On March 6, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari had said that Jishnu Debbarma will be the deputy chief minister. He is yet to be elected as an MLA as polling in his Charilam (Scheduled Tribe) constituency was postponed due to the death of the CPI(M) candidate.

The election would now be held on March 12.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and three chief ministers of BJP-ruled states in the northeastern region would be present at the swearing-in ceremony, state BJP spokesperson Mrinal Kanti Deb said. “All the chief ministers of the BJP-ruled states and the members of the BJP parliamentary board have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony, he said.

Deb, a long-time RSS volunteer, has been largely credited for the BJP’s turnaround in the state along with senior party leader Ram Madhav and RSS leader Sunil Deodhar.

IPFT president NC Debbarma said the party would get two berths in the new cabinet which was decided at a meeting with BJP leader and the North-East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) chairman Himanta Biswa Sarma.

With inputs from PTI