New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday announced the final list of six candidates for the upcoming Goa Assembly Election. The voting for 40 assembly constituencies in Goa will go to the polls on February 14.Also Read - Goa Election 2022: Why Congress Refused To Align With Shiv Sena, NCP

The six candidates announced by the BJP are Rajesh Tulshidas Patnekar from Bicholim, Joseph Robert Sequeira from Calangute, Antonio Fernandes from St Cruz, Janita Pandurang Madkaikar from Cumbarjua, Narayan G Naik from Cortalim, Anthony Barbosa from Curtorim.

On January 20, the BJP released the first list of 34 candidates. Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant will contest from Sanquelim assembly constituency. In the first list, the BJP has fielded three Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates from general seats, two Scheduled Caste (SC) candidates — one from general and one from reserved seat, 11 OBC candidates and nine minority Christian and one journalist.

Six sitting MLAs have been denied tickets in the first list. After being denied ticket from BJP, Utpal Parrikar, son of former defence minister Manohar Parrikar who has sought a ticket from his father’s constituency Panjim, has announced to contest as an independent.

Former chief minister and senior leader Laxmikant Parsekar has resigned from the BJP and announced to contest as an independent against the party candidate in Mandrem.

Earlier, Goa BJP president Sadanand Shet Tanavade said top BJP leaders like Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways Nitin Gadkari will also be arriving in the state to campaign for the party ahead of the polls.