New Delhi, June 4: Often in news for his controversial remarks, Uttar Pradesh minister Om Prakash Rajbhar on Monday blamed voters’ anger for BJP’s debacle in recent Kairana and Noorpur bypolls. The minister claimed that the voters, especially the backward classed were disappointed over the BJP’s choice of UP chief minister as they wanted  Keshav Prasad Maurya as the CM of the state. Also Read - Yogi Adityanath Pitches For Renaming Hyderabad As Bhagyanagar Ahead of GHMC Elections

“The BJP contested assembly polls with Keshav Prasad Maurya (a OBC) as its face but later Yogi Adityanath was made chief minister. Backwards supported the BJP in the hope that Maurya will become CM. The result of this anger reflected in the defeat of the BJP in bypolls,” Rajbhar told PTI over the phone. Also Read - No Written Permission Required For Weddings, UP Govt Issues Fresh Guidelines

On being asked if UP CM Yogi Adityanath is responsible for the defeat in bypolls, he said, “Government is responsible. The BJP should introspect about reasons of its defeat. It’s up to the BJP whom to make CM. It’s up to the party to make Yogi or Keshav as CM.” Also Read - Uttar Pradesh Cabinet Clears Ordinance Against 'Love jihad', to Check Forced Religious Conversion

On May 31, when the bypolls result were announced, the BJP lost both the Kairana and Noorpur assembly seats. Tabassum Hasan of the Rashtriya Lok Dal won the Kairana seat by a margin of 44,618 votes, while Naeemul Hasan of the SP bagged the Noorpur Assembly seat by 5,662 votes.

Notably, Rajbhar is a cabinet minister in the state. He is the chief Suheldev Bhartiya Samaj Party, which is an ally of the BJP in the state. It has four seats in the state assembly.