New Delhi: Amit Shah’s term as BJP national president ends in January 2019 but he will continue to be the party chief till the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, reported news agency IANS on Saturday.

It has reported that the decision was taken by the BJP at the meeting of its national office bearers, which is followed by the two-day national executive meeting where the party’s top leadership on the strategy for the upcoming Assembly elections in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

The development comes as the party has decided to defer its organisational polls till the end of 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

“Organisational elections are a vast exercise and it takes time too. All the workers get involved in it. So, a discussion is going on to defer the organisational polls until the 2019 Lok Sabha polls are completed,” West Bengal BJP chief Dilip Ghosh told reporters here at the sidelines of two-day National Executive meet.

BJP's 2-Day National Executive Meet Begins Today; Caste Conundrum, Fuel Prices Top on Agenda

BJP's 2-Day National Executive Meet Begins Today; Caste Conundrum, Fuel Prices Top on Agenda

According to the party constitution, any eligible member can hold the post of President for two-consecutive terms of three-years each.

Shah was elected unopposed as the party president on January 24, 2016, for a second term, this time for a full tenure of three years. He had earlier completed Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s interrupted tenure as President from July 2014. His second term will end on January 26, 2019.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Shah was incharge of Uttar Pradesh where the BJP won 73 out of total 80 seats. After Rajnath Singh became Home Minister in the Narendra Modi government, Shah was apoointed BJP President in July 2014.

Briefing reporters about the office bearers meeting, BJP Secretary Rahul Sinha quoted Shah as saying that the party will contest the 2019 polls on the performance of the Modi government and strength of organisation.

In his inaugural address today, Shah vowed to work to ensure the party’s return to power in the Lok Sabha elections with a bigger victory than 2014 when it had won a majority on its own for the first time in its electoral history.

A slogan of “Ajey BJP” (Invincible BJP) was adopted at the meeting of the party’s national office bearers and also presidents of its state units.

They pledged to work for the party’s victory in assembly polls in five states and a decision was taken to give extra emphasis on the elections in Telangana, which is likely to go the polls with states like Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh.