New Delhi, Jan 29: Independent Opinion Poll agency VDP Associates today claimed that the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) will form the government in Uttrakhand by a huge margin. The agency claimed that BJP is likely to win 50 out of 70 seats in the poll-bound Uttarakhand state. The polling agency projected the ruling Congress is likely to win 15 seats in the upcoming assembly election. Bahujan Samaj Party is also expected to win 2 seats while independent candidates may clinch 3 seats in Uttarakhand.Also Read - Chhattisgarh Local Congress Leaders and Workers Enter Into Ugly Brawl, Ex-Dist President Pushed | Watch

The opinion poll states that BJP may get 44 percent of votes in the state whereas congress is likely to get 34 percent of total votes. The poll suggests that independent candidates may appear spoilers by getting 15 percent cent of votes of the total electorate. Bahujan Samaj Party is likely to get 7 percent of votes in the state. Also Read - Breaking: BSP Suspends 2 MLAs For Indulging in Anti-Party Activities During UP Panchayat Polls

In an earlier development, the poll agency declared B. C. Khanduri to be the most popular leader for Chief Minister. He emerged to be the choice of 47 percent of the electorate. Present Chief Minister Harish Rawat emerged second in the list with 39% percent votes. However, Bhagat Singh Koshyari and Indra Hridyesh came third in the list with meagre 3% percent of total votes. Also Read - Denied BSP Ticket, UP Man Ends His Life; Makes Serious Allegations Against Mayawati in Suicide Note

uttrakhand bjp

uttrakhand vote share

In assembly elections in 2012, the Congress succeeded in winning 32 seats leaving Bhartiya Janta Paty which won 31 seats. Bahujan Samaj Partry managed to win 3 seats in previous assembly elections. The Congress and BJP’s vote shares were relatively equal with 33.79 percent and 33.13 percent respectively. However, independents secured 12.19 percent of total votes.

Although the Congress formed the government in the state, it had witnessed severe jolts in last five years. Former Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna resigned from the party and joined arch rival Bharatiya Janta Party with nine suspended MLAs.

Uttrakhand will go to polls on Feb 4 for 70 seats in assembly elections.