New Delhi: As the early trends showed a clean victory for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the national capital by leading on 58 seats, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Tuesday congratulated her Delhi counterpart Arvind Kejriwal and slammed the BJP for the defeat. She said the BJP will get similar reply when her own state will go to polls in 2021. Also Read - Ravi Negi, Akhilesh Pati Tripathi, Brahma Singh: Best Performers of Delhi Assembly Election 2020

“The BJP tortured students, women in Delhi. The saffron party got befitting reply. The BJP will get similar reply in 2021 West Bengal assembly polls,” Mamata Banerjee said. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: No Celebratory Firecrackers at AAP Headquarters on Arvind Kejriwal's Orders

She said this while addressing a rally in Bankura. She also said that it should be a matter of concern for the saffron party as one state after another is slipping out of its hand. Also Read - Delhi Assembly Elections 2020: Aam Aadmi Party Leaders Raghav Chadha, Atishi And Dilip Pandey Leading

“One state after another is slipping out of the BJP’s grip, the party will soon lose all states under its control,” Mamata said.

The statement from the West Bengal CM came after the BJP lost elections in Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh in a row. It also failed to gain majority in recently concluded Maharashtra and Haryana assembly elections. The same happened in Jharkhand election also.

Earlier in the day, Mamata congratulates Kejriwal for his win as per the trends. “Congratulations @ArvindKejriwal as #DelhiResults show @AamAadmiParty all set to win #DelhiElection2020 with a thumping majority yet again. Leaders playing on faith through hate speech & divisive politics should take a cue, as only those who deliver on their promises are rewarded,” she said in a tweet.

As per updates from the EC, the AAP has surged ahead on 58 seats of the nearest rival BJP by getting over 53 per cent polled votes. The counting of votes is still going on at 21 centres across the national capital amid tight security. The voting for 70 seats of Delhi assembly took place on February 8. The counting trends suggest the AAP is leading on 58 seats and the BJP on the remaining 12 seats.