Mumbai, Feb 23: Results of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) elections 2017 are scheduled to be declared today. The State Election Commission is expected to begin the counting of votes at 10 AM. The early trends would begin to emerge as soon as the counting begins. The electoral scenario would become clear later in the day. SEC is expected to upload the final tally of winning candidates, along with the victory margins shortly after the counting of votes conclude. Stay tuned with for all the live trends, results and real-time news updates emerging for all the wards of BMC. (ALSO: Watch Live Streaming of BMC Election Results)Also Read - East Shillong, North Shillong, West Shillong, South Shillong, Mylliem Assembly Elections: Constituency Details of Meghalaya Vidhan Sabha

Elections for the 227 seats of BMC were held on February 21. In a record voter turnout, 55.23 per cent of the total 91.80 lakh voters casted their mandate on Tuesday. The bumper voting was positively interpreted by Shiv Sena and BJP, the ally-cum-rivals, who have emerged as prime contenders in the battle for BMC. While BJP claimed the high voter turnout to be a mandate of ‘change’ against the incumbent Shiv Sena, the latter countered, saying, the voters of Mumbai expressed their ‘angst against demonetisation’. Also Read - Umsning, Umroi, Mawryngkneng, Pynthorumkhrah, Mawlai Assembly Elections: Constituency Details of Meghalaya Vidhan Sabha

Exit Poll Results Also Read - Khliehriat, Amlarem, Mawhati, Nongpoh, Jirang Assembly Elections: Constituency Details of Meghalaya Vidhan Sabha

The exit polls released following the elections have predicted a neck-to-neck contest between the Shiv Sena and BJP in Mumbai. According to the India Today Axis-My India survey, both BJP and Sena would secure a vote share of 32 per cent. However, in terms of seats, Shiv Sena is predicted to secure 86-92 seats, whereas, the BJP is projected to win 80-88. Meanwhile, Congress is predicted to retain only 16 per cent of vote share, winning 30-34 seats. The survey als0 predicts the downfall of Raj Thackeray’s MNS. The party is predicted to win only 5-7 seats, down from 28 it won in 2012 BMC elections.

The post-poll survey released by Zee 24 Taas also projected a similar electoral scenario. The exit poll predicts Shiv Sena to emerge as the single largest party, winning 90-95 seats.BJP is expected to emerge as the closest runner-up, bagging 78-82 eats. Congress is predicted to slip to the third spot, securing only 27-30 seats.

  • Shiv Sena to win 86-92 seats, claims Axis-My India survey. The Zee 24-Taas exit poll predicts 90-95 seats for the party.
  • BJP is likely to win 80-88 seats, as per the My-Axis India exit poll. The Zee 24 Taas survey projects the party to win 78-82 seats.
  • Congress is expected to be reduced as the second runner-up in Mumbai. Axis My-India survey predicts 30-34 seats for Congress. Zee24 Taas says Congress most likely to win 27-30 seats.
  • NCP is predicted to bag merely 2-6 seats in BMC, claims Axis-My India exit poll.
  • MNS is predicted to win only 5-7 seats.
  • Although the exit polls have not covered AIMIM, reports predict 6-8 seat for the Asaduddin Owaisi-led party.

Results of BMC Elections 2012

In the previous electoral battle for Asia’s richest civic body, Shiv Sena emerged as the single largest party, winning 75 of the 138 seats contested. Shiv Sena had then contested in an alliance with BJP, with the latter contesting on 69 seats. BJP had won 31 seats in the elections. Congress emerged as the prime opposition to Shiv Sena, winning 52 seats. MNS of Raj Thackeray made a promising a poll debut, winning 28 seats. The party had even bagged seats from the area of Parel-Dadar, the bastion of Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray.

Shiv Sena75
Bharatiya Janata Party31
Indian National Congress52
Nationalist Congress Party13
Maharashtra Navnirman Sena28

According to pollsters, Shiv Sena and BJP are expected to reunite in BMC following the polls, if either of them fail to attain a full majority mandate. BJP state unit chief Rao Saheb Danve, while addressing the press on Wednesday, stated that the party may form an alliance with Shiv Sena in Mumbai, if need arises. However, he added that the post-poll coalition would only be formed if Shiv Sena approaches them.

Live Updates

  • 8:48 PM IST

    Thank you for tuning into the live coverage of BMC elections 2017. Here is the final result tally:

    Total Seat


    Political Party

    Trends So Far

    Shiv Sena










    Samajwadi Party






  • 7:01 PM IST

    BJP’s Atul Shah won ward no. 220 of BMC after lottery in presence of Municipal Commissioner.

  • 6:40 PM IST

    “BJP has won high number of seats in Maharashtra. But one should also know the amount of money spent by them. But even after spending such high amounts on campaign, they cannot dislodge Shiv Sena as the number 1 party,” Shiv Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray said.

  • 5:44 PM IST

    “I thank the voters of Mumbai. This result is unprecedented,” Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis said.

  • 5:41 PM IST

  • 5:40 PM IST

    “The credit of BJP’s victory goes to its hardworking workers. We would like to congratulate the voters of Mumbai for entrusting faith in us. We will take all possible steps, under the leadership of Devendra Fadnavis ji, to live up to the expectations of voters in Mumbai,” said Rao Saheb Danve.

  • 5:17 PM IST

    BMC Elections 2017 Results: To view the list of winning candidates in Mumbai, click here.

  • 5:14 PM IST

    Earlier in the day, Vinod Tawde took a jibe against Shiv Sena saying, “Those who said BJP has no status to win more than 40 seats, where would they hide their faces now? People of Mumbai have given them a befitting reply.”

  • 5:13 PM IST

    Senior Mumbai BJP leaders Kirit Somaiya and Ashish Shelar have come out in celebration. Somaiya, the Lok Sabha MP, led party celebrations in Mulund region.

  • 5:11 PM IST

    Senior BJP leaders including Vinod Tawde met Sanjay Raut and other Shiv Sena leaders at 5 PM in Mumbai. There is a strong possibility of post-poll alliance between the two parties.