Mumbai, Feb 17: Contesting the upcoming Brihanmumbai Municipal Council (BMC) elections from ward number 223 in Dongri, Nikita Nikam, the Congress candidate from the seat is already gaining headlines for her attire while campaigning. Contesting from a Muslim dominated seat of Dongri, Nikita wears a headscarf while campaigning in the area. According to her supporters, wearing Hijab helps in gaining a connection with the voters of the locality.Also Read - Remembering Former Prime Minister Gulzarilal Nanda on His Birth Anniversary

Nikita is the daughter of three-time Congress Corporator Dnyanraj Nikam and when her name was announced for ward number 223 (Dongri), Nikita felt that it is important to build a connection with its voters and since 60 percent of voters in her constituency are dominated by Muslims, she changed her attire and started campaigning wearing Hijab over Kurta. Also Read - Mumbai Building Collapse: Case Registered Against Three But no Arrests Yet

“I feel quite comfortable in it. In fact, a Muslim friend had gifted me a headscarf when I was in college. I didn’t wear it then but now I am in hijab when I visit Muslim homes as it helps me establish a better bond,” Nikita said in an interview with Times Of India. Nikita further added that she has also been gifted a Burkha but she hasn’t worn it yet. (Also Read: Reservation only solution for upliftment of Muslims, says Akbaruddin Owaisi) Also Read - Mumbai Building Collapse: CM Calls Meeting With Housing Minister, BMC Officials

Nikita is contesting the upcoming elections against Waqarunnisa Ansari of All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) and Neda Fathima of Samajwadi Party. Both these ladies wear a burqa while campaigning and the supporters of Congress candidate felt it important that to contend against the two candidates who belong to the Muslim community, it is important for Nikita to change her attire for the BMC elections.

Elections in BMC will be contested on February 21 and the results for the same will be declared on February 23. A total of 2275 candidates will be contesting for 227 seats of the richest Municipal corporation of the country. The major parties contesting the BMC elections include Shiv Sena, Bharatiya Janata Party, Indian National Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, Samajwadi Party and All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).