New Delhi: Union Minister of Information Technology and Law Ravi Shankar Prasad and Union Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar on Wednesday added to the list of resignations of prominent faces in the Modi cabinet. Javadekar was also the Environment Minister in the Union Cabinet. Notably, 43 ministers – new and promoted – will take oath in the new Union Cabinet at 6 PM today.Also Read - UK PM Johnson Reshuffles Cabinet; Appoints Rees-Mogg As Minister For Brexit Opportunities

President Ram Nath Kovind has accepted the resignations of 12 Union Ministers who quit over various reasons today after PM Modi personally reviewed the performance of the present ministers. Meanwhile, the new inductees have started arriving at Rashtrapati Bhavan for the oath-taking ceremony. Also Read - Video: Key Decisions Taken by Modi Government in 2021 Explained | Watch Video

Earlier today, Health Minister Harsh Vardhan and Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ were among some of the big faces who tendered resignation today. Reportedly, Dr Harsh Vardhan, who served as Minister of Health and Family Welfare, Minister of Science and Technology, and Minister of Earth Sciences, was removed as the Union Health Minister due to his handling of the COVID-19 pandemic. Also Read - Happy With Rajasthan Cabinet Reshuffle, Says Congress Leader Sachin Pilot

Meanwhile, Pokhriyal is said to be dropped as has expressed his unwillingness to continue in the Cabinet due to post-COVID impact on his health.

List of 12 Union Ministers Who Resigned from the Cabinet:

  1. D.V. Sadananda Gowda
  2. Ravi Shankar Prasad
  3. Thaawarchand Gehlot
  4. Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’
  5. Dr Harsh Vardhan
  6. Prakash Javadekar
  7. Santosh Kumar Gangwar
  8. Babul Supriyo
  9. Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao
  10. Rattan Lal Kataria
  11. Pratap Chandra Sarangi
  12. Debasree Chaudhuri