Bengaluru, May 17: BS Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka on Thursday after two days of high drama politics in the state with Bharatiya Janata Party emerging as the single largest party, but falling short of majority. Yeddyurappa was sworn in as the Karnataka Chief Minister by Governor Vajubhai Vala, who has been at the centre of controversies in the past two days for inviting the BJP to form the government and ignoring the letters submitted by the JDS and Congress for a coalition government. Complete coverage of Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 Also Read - Tripura Crisis: Central BJP Leaders Arrive in Agartala to Meet Rebel MLAs Amid Speculations of Them Joining TMC

According to reports, alleged Congress workers tried to stop Yeddyurappa’s cavalcade this morning when he was on his way to Raj Bhavan for his oath taking ceremony. Meanwhile, Union Minister and BJP leader Ananth Kumar said that the party will prove its majority on the floor of the House soon. Also Read - Chirag Paswan Breaks Silence, Says 'No One Can Replace Me As LJP's National President'

After Vajubhai Vala invited the BJP to form the government and prove majority on the floor of the House in fifteen days, the Congress and the JDS filed a petition against the same in the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court, in an overnight hearing, refused to stay BS Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in ceremony. However, the Supreme Court said that it will be subject to the verdict in the case as and when it is pronounced. Also Read - 15 Lakshadweep BJP Leaders Resign Over Sedition Charges Against Filmmaker Aisha Sultana

After hearing the matter for over three hours, the three-judge bench, comprising justices AK Sikri, SA Bobde, and Ashok Bhushan, directed that the letter sent by the BJP to Governor Vajubhai Vala for forming the government be placed before it. Appearing for the Congress, Abhishek Manu Singhvi said, “It is the biggest license to poaching if Governor gives 15 days to the BJP to prove majority.”  To this, the Justices said they were wondering whether the Supreme Court can restrain a Governor that might lead to a constitutional vacuum in a state. To this, Singhvi pointed out that the same had been done in the past.

On May 15, the BJP won 104 seats out of 222 Assembly seats that went to polls in Karnataka. The Congress won 78 seats while the JDS won 38. In a turn of events, the JDS and Congress came together to form a coalition government. They also got the support of one Independent MLA, taking their collective number to 117, well past the half-way mark.

BS Yeddyurappa won from the Shikaripura seat, defeating G Malatesha of the Congress. Yeddyurappa is making a comeback as the Chief Minister of Karnataka after seven years. He had been the deputy chief minister in 2006-2007 and chief minister from 2008 to 2011. Yeddyurappa had broken away from the BJP in 2013 when the party sidelined him over corruption allegations and had formed his own party – KJP. He later joined hands with the BJP again and campaigned with the party aggressively this election.