New Delhi, Mar 14: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) issued a notice to all of its members and asked them to be present at the first Lok Sabha budget session after the assembly elections results were declared on March 11. Apart from the bills, that were introduced in the winter session of Lok Sabha and are likely to come up for a discussion in today’s session, Congress is likely to challenge the BJP’s government formation in Manipur and Goa. The party has also claimed that calling up BJP by the governor to form a government is illegal.

#BJP issues whip to its #LokSabha members; asking them to be present in the House today

Claiming to be the single largest party in Goa as well as Manipur, the Congress party asserts that the single-largest party should have been asked to form the government. The Congress had moved the Supreme Court challenging BJP taking charge of Goa despite winning fewer seats in the just-concluded assembly elections. As per the reports, the party will seek a stay on Manohar Parrikar’s swearing-in as Goa Chief Minister scheduled today.

Today, in Lok Sabha

Today in Lok Sabha

The BJP claimed to have the support of 21 MLAs, the exact number that is required to prove majority in the state in the 40-member House. BJP had won 13 seats as against 17 won by the Congress.

In Manipur, Okram Ibobi Singh who had submitted his resignation on Monday too urged the governor to accept his claims to form the next government in Manipur on the basis of a support letter from the 4-member NPP which the BJP now claims that has been supporting it. To which MPCC president TN Haokip said, “Our deal with NPP still stands.”

“I met governor on Sunday night…we have submitted the letter of support given by NPP. As per democratic tradition, the single largest party should be first given the chance to form the government,” Okram Ibobi Singh said.

After Okram Ibobi Singh resigned as Manipur Chief Minister, paving the way for the formation of a new ministry under the BJP, Biren Singh, who has been elected to the 21-member legislature party of BJP, staked claims to form the government.

Earlier, Biren Singh had submitted a list of 32 MLAs and a letter of support from PA Sangma’s party NPP, NPF, LJP, and independent candidates Ashab Uddin and T Robindro Singh who won on a Trinamool ticket to Manipur governor Najma Heptullah. Congress too is in the race with a total number of 28 MLAs.

The discussions that are likely to happen in Lok Sabha today include demands from railway ministry, farmers, environment and questions related to home ministry.