New Delhi, May 31:  The results of by-elections to four Lok Sabha seats and 10 assembly constituencies will be declared on Thursday. The counting will start at 8 AM and a clear picture is likely to emerge around noon. While the Bharatiya Janata Party would want to show that it is a formidable force in the states, this by-poll would also be a litmus test of the unity of the Opposition which came together just to oust the saffron party. Also Read - Delhi Police EOW Files Cheating Case Against DSGMC President Manjinder Singh Sirsa

The Lok Sabha seats which went for polls on May 28  were: Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya in Maharashtra; Kairana in Uttar Pradesh and Nagaland parliamentary constituency. Also Read - NCB Sends Notice to Karan Johar 3 Months After Manjinder Singh Sirsa's Complaint Over Alleged Drug Party Video

Elections were necessitated in Kairana after the seat fell vacant in February following the death of BJP leader Hukum Singh. While in Maharashtra’s Palghar election was  necessitated after the demise of BJP MP Chintaman Wanga in January. In Bhandara-Gondiya the bye-election was necessitated when BJP’s sitting MP Nana Patole quit the party to join the Congress in December last year. Notably, these by-polls hold extreme significance for the BJP as it held three of the four Lok Sabha seats: Kairana, Palghar and Bhandara-Gondia. Also Read - Months After SAD Broke Ties With NDA, Centre Withdraws Z-plus Security of Akali Leader

Meanwhile, in Nagaland Neiphiu Rio of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) was the representative of the lone Lok Sabha constituency in Nagaland. Rio, who represented this constituency, quit in February to contest in the assembly election. Rio is the chief minister of Nagaland.

The Assembly seats which went to polls on May 28 were: Shahkot (Punjab), Tharali (Uttarakhand), Ampati (Meghalaya), Chengannur (Kerala), Jokihat (Bihar), Gomia (Jharkhand), Silli (Jharkhand), Maheshtala (West Bengal), Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), Palus Kadegaon (Maharashtra).

Shahkot assembly seat fell vacant following the death of sitting Akali Dal legislator Ajit Singh Kohar in February this year. Kohar, a former minister, was elected five times from this seat. While the main contest is between the ruling Congress and opposition Shiromani Akali Dal, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has made it a three-cornered contest by fielding its candidate.

The by-poll in Tharali seat of Uttarakhand was necessitated after the death of the BJP MLA Magan Lal Shah in February. While in Ampati, elections were held after Former Meghalaya Chief Minister and Congress MLA Mukul Sangma resigned from the seat in March.

On the other hand, Chengannur seat fell vacant after the death of Communist Party of India (Marxist) sitting MLA K.K. Ramachandran Nair in January.

The by-poll in Gomia Assembly was necessitated after the sitting MLA Yogendra Prasad Mahto of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) was expelled from the assembly after he was convicted in a coal theft case. In Jharkhand’s Silli the sitting MLA, Amit Mahto, of the JMM was convicted in a criminal assault case in March following which the seat fell vacant.

The Maheshtala seat was held by Trinamool Congress (TMC) MLA Kasturi Das until his death in February. He too had represented this constituency twice. The seat of Noorpur in Uttar Pradesh fell vacant after the death of sitting BJP MLA Lokendra Singh Chouhan. The by-poll in Palus-Kadegaon Assembly constituency was necessitated after the demise of Congress’s Patangrao Kadam.

Notably, voting was held on May 28, amid reports of malfunctioning of EVM-VVPATs. The Election Commission (EC) ordered re-polling at 49 booths in Bhandara-Gondia and 73 booths of Kairana even as it insisted that reports of large-scale failure of EVMs were an “exaggerated projection of reality”.

Live Updates

  • 6:57 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: NDPP’s Tokheho Yepthomi Wins Nagaland.

  • 6:28 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: BJP’s Sambit Patra says the Congress needs to introspect as it is relegated to a cheerleader’s role. “Congress aaj dusri parties ke liye cheer leading aur taali bajaane ka kaam kar rahi hai. Congress khud politics ke madhya mein aur dhuri mein nazar nahi aa rahi hai. Aise mein, Congress ko zyada introspect karna chahiye,” he says.

  • 6:06 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: Reacting to Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray’s outburst against the BJP, NCP’s Praful Patel says, “Uddhav Thackeray is right, but no one will believe him till the time he is supporting the BJP. He should quit the alliance & everyone will believe what he says.”

  • 5:47 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: Election Commission declares BJP’s Rajendra Gavit winner from Palghar.

  • 5:33 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: “There were some discrepancies in counting. So, we appeal that results should not be announced till those discrepancies are sorted out,” says Uddhav Thackeray, Shiv Sena chief.

  • 5:27 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: “Seeing the corruption in Election Commission, I would suggest that even election commissioners should not be appointed, but elected,” says Thackeray.

  • 5:20 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: Shiv Sena chief Udhav Thackeray says, “Yogi Adityanath is losing in his own state & he is coming to campaign here (Maharashtra). Janta ne Yogi ji ki masti utaar di hai.”

  • 4:59 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: NDPP candidate leads from Nagaland LS constituency.

  • 4:36 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav comments on his party’s victory from Jokihat and also other parties wresting victory from the BJP, “They (used all their money & all their power, but could not get a victory. Nitish ji ne Ram Navmi ke dauraan jo 2 lakh talwaarein baantne ka kaam kiya tha, janta ne aaj ussi ke liye Nitish ji ko puruskaar dene ka kaam kiya hai.”

  • 4:03 PM IST

    By-poll Results Live News and Updates: Seemingly unfazed by the humiliating defeat in Kairana, Home Minister Rajnath Singh says, “To take a giant leap, you will have to take two steps back. We will take a giant leap in future.”