New Delhi, May 31: The results of by-election to four Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats spread across 10 states will be declared today. Counting of votes for Lok Sabha and Assembly bypoll results will begin at 8 am. Zee News will host live streaming on by-election results 2018. Click here to watch live coverage of Zee News on by-election results of four Lok Sabha and 10 Assembly seats. The results of election in Rajarajeshwari Nagar or RR Nagar Assembly seat in Karnataka will also be declared. Also Read - Maharashtra Hospital Fire: State Govt Announces Rs 5 Lakh Compensation, PM Modi Expresses Grief

For Lok Sabha seats – Kairana (Uttar Pradesh), Bhandara-Gondiya (Maharashtra), Palghar (Maharashtra) and the lone seat in Nagaland and 10 Assembly seats — Noorpur (Uttar Pradesh), Jokihat (Bihar), Tharali (Uttarakhand), Gomia and Silli (Jharkhand), Maheshtala (West Bengal), Ampati (Meghalaya), Palus Kadegaon  (Maharashtra), Shahkot (Punjab) and Chengannur (Kerala) went to bypolls on May 28. Also Read - Thane Records 5,007 New Covid-19 Cases & 40 Deaths As District Faces Hospital Bed Shortage

In Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had profusely campaigned in Kairana by-election after losing Gorakhpur and Phulpur parliamentary seats. The by-election results will also test the mettle of a united opposition against the BJP, led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. By-election was necessitated in Kairana after the seat fell vacant in February following the death of BJP leader Hukum Singh. The BJP has fielded Mriganka Singh, daughter of Singh, from this seat. Also Read - ZEE Rajasthan, The No.1 Choice Of Rajasthan, Relaunches In A New And Fresh Look 

Similarly, in Maharashtra’s Palghar and Bhandara-Gondiya, all four major parties — the BJP, Shiv Sena, NCP, and Congress left no stone unturned to woo the electorates in their favour. In Maharashtra, Palghar is a reserved seat, which was previously held by the BJP. The seat fell vacant after sitting BJP MP Chintaman Wanga died in January. Chintaman Wanga had thrice won the constituency as a BJP member, however, after his death, his family had joined hands with the Shiv Sena. In Bhandara-Gondiya the bye-election was necessitated when BJP’s sitting MP Nana Patole quit the party to join the Congress in December last year.

Meanwhile, in Nagaland Neiphiu Rio of the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party was the representative of the lone Lok Sabha constituency in Nagaland. Rio, who represented this constituency, quit in February to contest in the assembly election. Rio is the chief minister of Nagaland.

Assembly bypolls:

The by-poll in Gomia Assembly was necessitated after the sitting MLA Yogendra Prasad Mahto of the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) was expelled from the assembly after he was convicted in a coal theft case. In Jharkhand’s Silli the sitting MLA, Amit Mahto, of the JMM was convicted in a criminal assault case in March following which the seat fell vacant.

The seat of Noorpur in Uttar Pradesh fell vacant after the death of sitting BJP MLA Lokendra Singh Chouhan. Chouhan was a two-time MLA from here.

The Maheshtala seat was held by Trinamool Congress (TMC) MLA Kasturi Das until his death in February. He too had represented this constituency twice.

Former Meghalaya Chief Minister and Congress MLA Mukul Sangma resigned from Ampati seat in March, as he had also won from Songsak. Sangma was the MLA from this seat since 1993.

Tharali seat in Uttarakhand is reserved for the member of scheduled castes. The by-poll was necessitated after the death of the BJP MLA Magan Lal Shah in February.

Chengannur seat fell vacant after the death of Communist Party of India (Marxist) sitting MLA K.K. Ramachandran Nair in January.

Sarfaraz Alam had won the Jokihat assembly seat on Janata Dal (United) (JD-U) ticket. He later contested from RJD ticket and resigned in April from the post of MLA after his victory in the Araria Lok Sabha by-poll.

The Shiromani Akali Dal representative of the Shahkot seat, Ajit Singh Kohar the sitting MLA, died in February, which necessitated by-poll in the assembly. Kohar had won from the constituency in 2012 and 2017.

The by-poll in Palus-Kadegaon Assembly constituency was necessitated due to the death of Congress’s Patangrao Kadam, who had won the constituency twice. The EC has declared Kadam’s son elected unopposed as the BJP had withdrawn its candidate.