New Delhi, Nov 15: A number of by-elections are scheduled across the nation on November 19. As per the schedule released by Election Commission of India, a total of 9 assembly segments would be contested across the six states of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal and Tripura. One assembly constituency would be contested in the union territory of Puducherry as well. Apart from the nine assembly segments, four parliamentary seats would also go for polling on Nov 19. The counting of votes would begin on November 22 and the deadline to complete the electoral process has been set as November 24. Results are expected to be announced on Nov 22.Also Read - Flood Alert Issued in THESE Districts of Tamil Nadu As Krishnagiri Dam Reaches Full Capacity

Although local issues are expected to dominate the elections, the mandate of voters would also reflect their perception towards the demonetisation of currency by the central government. The drastic step taken by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has affected the entire nation. While a section of population have appreciated the intent of the move, none could deny that it has caused massive inconvenience to the common man. There is a possibility that the electorate express their anger while making the ballot choice. Also Read - 2 Killed, Several Injured As Cops Thrash Protesters, Open Fire During Eviction Drive in Assam's Darrang District

Here are the state-wise details: Also Read - Jadavpur University to Hold Free Vaccination Camp for Students; Details to be Notified Soon

Assam: The assembly constituency of Baithalangso (ST), along with the parliamentary seat of Lakhimpur would be contested. The polls in Baithalangso were necessitated as reigning MLA Dr Mansing Rongpi switched from Congress to Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). In the elections to be conducted on November 19, Rongpi would contest on the BJP ticket.

Elections was necessitated in the parliamentary constituency of Lakhimpur as it was vacated by Sarbananda Sonowal who contested in the assembly elections this year and went ahead to become the chief minister.

Arunachal Pradesh: The assembly segment of Hayuliang, reserved as Scheduled Tribe seat would be contested in Arunachal Pradesh in the bypolls. The election of this constituency has grabbed attention as the Desingu Pul, wife of former chief minister Kalikho Pul, is contesting on the BJP ticket. Kalikho Pul committed suicide in August under mysterious conditions.

Madhya Pradesh: The assembly seat of Nepanagar would be contested, along with the parliamentary constituency of Shahdol. Both are reserved seats for scheduled caste candidates. From Nepanagar, Congress has fielded Antar Singh Barde, noted tribal leader. BJP has given ticket to Manju Dadu, daughter of late MLA Rajendra Shyamlal Dadu whose death necessitated the bypoll.

From Shahdol, Congress has posed faith  in Himadri Singh, daughter of former Union Minister Dalbir Singh. BJP has nominated Gyan Singh, senior minister in Madhya Pradesh cabinet, to wrest the seat.

West Bengal: The assembly segment of Monteswar, along with the parliamentary seats of Coocchbehar (ST) and Tamluk would be contested on November 19. Polls were necessitated in Coochbehar as sitting Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP Renuka Sinha died. TMC has announced Partha Pratim Roy as its candidate, whereas, Left Front’s candidate will be Forward Bloc leader Nripendra Nath Roy.

Elections in Tamluk were neccesiated as MP Suvendu Adhikari contested in the legislative elections and got elected in the assembly. By-polls in Montesar assembly segment was required as sitting MLA Sajal Panja died an untimely death. Trinamool has announced Dibyendu Adhikari and Saikat Panja as the candidates from Tamluk and and Montesar respectively.

Tamil Nadu: The assembly segments of Thiruparankundram, Thanjavur and Aravakurichi would be contested on November 19. The primary electoral battle is between AIADMK and DMK. From Thiruparankundram, AIADMK has nominated AK Bose. DMK candidate is P Saravanan.

From Thanjavur and Aravakurichi, AIADMK has retained M Senthil and M Rengasamy as their respective candidates from the seats. Polling in both the constituencies were not conducted during the assembly elections in April-May, due to the alleged distribution of cash and liquor by either parties. DMK has retained K C Palanisamy and Anjugam Bhoopathy as the candidates from Thanjavur and Aravakurichi respectively.

Tripura: TMC has been campaigning aggressively in the assembly seats of Barjala and Khowai where by-elections are scheduled to be held. Ruling Left Front has nominated Jhuma Sarkar in Barjala and Biswajit Datta in Khowai. TMC has fielded Parkas Das in Barjala and Manoj Das in Khowai.

Puducherry: Nellithope assembly seat would be contested on November 19. AIADMK has been campaigning relentlessly to wrest the seat. the party has nominated Om Sakhti Sekhar to take on Chief Minister V Narayanasamy who is contesting from the seat. The assembly segment fell vacant after sitting Congress MLA A John Kumar vacated the seat to allow Narayanasamy to contest the election and get elected as member of the assembly. Narayanasamy had not contested the elections in April 2016. He was later selected as chief ministerial candidate after Congress secured the majority figure in the elections.