Live Updates

  • 7:10 PM IST
    In the bypolls held on Sunday last, the BJP won in Delhi, Himachal Pradesh and Assam. There was some solace for the Congress in Karnataka where it won both the seats. Both Congress and BJP won one seat each in Madhya Pradesh. Trinamool Congress retained Kanthi Dakshin Assembly seat in West Bengal, while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha retained Littipara seat in Jharkhand.

    The by-polls were held in nine Assembly constituencies in seven states, besides the Srinagar parliamentary seat. Two seats each are in Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh and one each in West Bengal, Assam, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Delhi.
  • 6:58 PM IST

    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: Congress candidate Hemant Katare won the Ater bypolls in Madhya Pradesh, defeating BJP nominee Arvind Singh Bhadoria. A close contest was seen between Katare and Bhadoria, with the former winning the bypolls by a close margin of 857 votes.

  • 5:01 PM IST

    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: Counting of votes is still underway for Jharkhand’s Littipara bypolls. JMM’s Simon Marandi was leading by 9227 votes after 19 rounds of counting while the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party’s Hemlal Murmu was at second position with 47385 votes.

  • 4:21 PM IST

    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: The ruling BJP won the Dholpur assembly seat in Rajasthan as Shobha Rani Kushavah trounced Congress rival and former minister Banwari Lal Sharma by over 38,000 votes in Dholpur bypolls.

  • 4:01 PM IST

    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: Counting of votes for one seat of Jharkhand and Madhya Pradesh is still underway.

  • 1:34 PM IST

  • 1:08 PM IST

    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: After nine rounds of counting, Congress has gained further lead against BJP in Madhya Pradesh’s Ater bypolls. Congress candidate Hemant Katare leads by 459 votes.

  • 12:54 PM IST

    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: A neck-to-neck battle is being seen in Madhya Pradesh’s Ater bypolls. After the six rounds of counting, BJP was leading by 169 votes against Congress.

  • 12:32 PM IST

    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: TMC candidate Chandrima Bhattacharya won West Bengal’s Kanthi Dakshin bypolls.

  • 12:24 PM IST
    Bye-Election Results 2017 LIVE News Updates: The BJP’s Manjinder Singh Sirsa on Thursday won the Delhi assembly byelection from the Rajouri Garden constituency. Sirsa defeated his nearest rival Meenakshi Chandela of the Congress by a margin of nearly 14,000 votes, pushing the ruling AAP’s candidate to a distant third.

New Delhi, Apr 13: Bye-election results will be declared of ten Assembly constituencies of eight states on Thursday. Counting of votes will begin at 8 AM for West Bengal, Assam, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Jharkhand, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh bypolls results 2017. Polling took place in two Assembly constituencies each in Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh, one each in West Bengal, Assam, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Delhi on April 9. We will be updating live on the bye-election results of West Bengal, Assam, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh. Catch the instant live updates of the West Bengal (Kanthi Dakshin), Assam (Dhemaji), Rajasthan (Dholpur), Jharkhand (Littipara), Himachal Pradesh (Bhoranj), Delhi (Rajouri Garden), Karnataka (Nanjangud and Gundlupet) and Madhya Pradesh (Ater and Bandhavgarh) bypolls results here. Catch the live updates on West Bengal’s Kanthi Dakshin bypolls here

Delhi’s Rajouri Garden assembly by-poll saw disinterested voting, registering just 47 per cent. In Rajouri Garden, Aam Aadmi Party’s Harjeet Singh, Congress’ Meenakshi Chandela and BJP-SAD’s Manjinder Singh Sirsa are in the fray. The seat fell vacant as AAP’s Jarnail Singh resigned to contest the Punjab assembly polls. Karnataka’s Gundlupet saw a record 80 per cent turnout while 76 per cent was registered in Nanjangud bypolls. The bypoll for Nanjangud was necessitated by the resignation of former Congress lawmaker and Revenue Minister Srinviasa Prasad, who is re-contesting on a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket against Congress’ K Keshavamurthy. Catch live updates on Rajasthan’s Dholpur bypoll results here

Jharkhand’s Littipara bypoll saw 72.15 per cent voting. The Littipara seat fell vacant after Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) legislator Anil Murmu died in January following a heart attack. The bypoll is a prestige issue for both the ruling BJP and opposition JMM. West Bengal’s Kanthi Dakshin assembly by-poll recorded 82 per cent voting. The seat had fallen vacant after TMC sitting legislator Dibyendu Adhikari was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Tamluk seat in a by-poll last year. Catch live updates on Delhi’s Rajouri Garden bypoll results here

In Himachal Pradesh, bypoll for the Bhoranj seat saw over 63 percent voting. The bypoll was necessitated following the death of two-time former cabinet minister I.D. Dhiman, who had won six consecutive elections from this constituency. The main contest was between Congress Promila Devi and BJP’s Anil Dhiman. Assam’s Dhemaji constituency saw 66.97 per cent voting. The by-election was necessitated as BJP lawmaker Pradan Baruah contested and won the byelection to the Lok Sabha from the Lakhimpur constituency. Sarbananda Sonowal vacated the seat after winning from the Majuli assembly constituency on becoming the Chief Minister. Catch live updates on Madhya Pradesh’s Bandhavgarh bye-election results here

In Dholpur Assembly constituency in Rajasthan, where the BJP is in power, nearly 80 per cent polling was recorded till 6 PM. 60 per cent of the voters exercised their franchise in Ater assembly seat bypoll in Madhya Pradesh. The voting percentage was 65 for Bandhavgarh seat. In Ater, Arvind Singh Bhadoria (BJP), Hemant Katare (Congress) and Samajwadi Party’s Dinesh Singh are in the fray. In Bandhavgarh, Congress candidate Savitri Singh is pitted against Shivnarayan Singh of the BJP.