Live Updates

  • 3:05 PM IST

    Since Shobha Rani Kushvaha has emerged as a clear winner, we won’t be updating the live blog further. Thanks for being with us on the blog. For more news and updates, log on to

  • 2:56 PM IST

    Shobha Rani Kushvaha of BJP takes an unassailable lead of over 40,000 votes. Declaration of win soon.

  • 12:18 PM IST
    BJP leading by 20,000 votes in Dholpur.
  • 11:26 AM IST

    BJP is leading by 17,000 votes, supporters start celebrations.

  • 10:59 AM IST

    The Bharatiya Janata Party is leading by 12435 votes in Dholpur. It is an unassailable lead. This clearly means that Congress leader Sachin Pilot’s bid to turn the tide in Congress party’s favour has failed completely.

  • 10:21 AM IST

    BJP leads by 7870 votes at the end of third round of counting.

  • 10:05 AM IST

    BJP takes its lead to 5260 votes in third round of counting.

  • 10:01 AM IST
    BJP’s Shobha Rani Kushavah is leading by 4,735 votes even as the third round of counting is on.
  • 9:38 AM IST

    The Bharatiya Janata Party has taken a massive lead in Dholpur as the second round of counting ended. Party candidate Shobha Rani Kushavah is leading by 4450 votes. This is a gigantic lead as the third round of counting has not ended yet.

  • 9:01 AM IST

    The Bharatiya Janata Party enhances its lead. Kushavah is leading by 2,000 votes.

Jaipur, April 13: The Rajasthan’s Dholpur Bye-Election Results 2017  can be termed as a referendum on Vasudhara Raje’s governance and Sachin Pilot’s clout in his region. It will also clear the doubt as to whose wind is blowing in Rajasthan. That’s why the Congress party and the Bharatiya Janata Party have pressed their local stars into action. While CM Vasundhara Raje had paraded her ministers before the electorate, Sachin Pilot addresses some 200 assemblies in the constituency. It is a hard fought election. It would interesting to know who wins the Dholpur bypolls 2017.

The Congress party had not performed well here in 2013 assembly elections. It was destroyed in 2014 general elections. However, the party has gained some ground in the past three years under Sachin Pilot’s leadership. The Congress party performed well in local polls. This gave a glimmer of hope to the party. A win here would be a big boost for the beleaguered party.

A bumper poll turnout was recorded in Dholpur on April 9. 80 per cent people came out to vote. In 2013, the voting percentage in Dholpur was 81.34 percent.“It was a peaceful election on 231 booths, which nearly 1500 polling personnel handled. Tight security arrangements were made on sensitive polling booths. Over 80 per cent voters exercised their right,” Chief Electoral Officer, Ashwini Bhagat told PTI.

Some important points regarding bypoll.

  • Dholpur’s former MLA Banbari Lal Kushwaha was removed from his post after he was sentenced for life in a murder case.
  • The notification was issued on March 14 for the elections.
  • The last date for nomination was March 21
  • 15 candidates are contesting the election.
  • Polling will happen on April 9.
  • Results will be announced on April 13.
  • The process of elections will have to completed by April 15.
  • The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress are the main contestants.
  • In 2013, BSP’s Kushwaha had defeated Banwari Lal Sharma of the Congress party.
  • Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje has rendered the election a high profile by campaigning there vigorously for days besides getting most of her ministers to canvass intensively in her home turf.