Live Updates

  • 10:19 PM IST

    Polling on Monday concluded for the Ajmer Lok Sabha bypolls with 65.33% voting turnout.

  • 3:53 PM IST
    Around 40 per cent voting was recorded till late afternoon in the bypolls in the Lok Sabha constituencies of Alwar and Ajmer, and the Mandalgarh Assembly seat in Rajasthan on Monday.

    According to information, a technical error erupted in an EVM machine in village Kekadi due to which voting was stopped for sometime.
  • 2:35 PM IST

    West Bengal bye-election: BJP, TMC workers clash outside polling booth

  • 2:01 PM IST

  • 2:00 PM IST

    Rajasthan bye-election: Nearly 50 per cent voter turnout recorded in Mandalgarh till 2 PM

  • 1:45 PM IST

    Rajasthan bye-election: Congress workers clash with Rajasthan education minister Vasudev Devnani at a polling booth in Ajmer.

  • 1:28 PM IST

    West Bengal bye-elections: Uluberia and Noapara registered 15 per cent and 17.5 per cent polling respectively in the first two hours.

  • 1:01 PM IST

    Rajasthan bye-elections: 28.12 % voter turnout recorded in Alwar till 12 PM

  • 12:27 PM IST

    Rajasthan bye-elections: Villagers in Manda in Ajmer district boycott polls over lack of development work.

  • 12:20 PM IST

    Rajasthan bye-elections: 21% voting in Alwar, 20.5% voting in Ajmer and 25% voting in Mandalgarh till 11 am

New Delhi, Jan 29: Bye-elections to three parliamentary and two assembly constituencies in Rajasthan and West Bengal will be held on Monday amid tight security. In Rajasthan, elections will be held in Alwar and Ajmer parliamentary constituencies and Mandalgarh assembly constituency whereas in West Bengal Uluberia parliamentary and Noapara assembly constituencies will go to the polls.

About West Bengal Bye-elections: 

The Uluberia Lok Sabha seat in Howrah district fell vacant after the death of Trinamool Congress (TMC) MP Sultan Ahmed in September last year. The Noapara Assembly seat in North 24 Paraganas fell vacant after the death of Congress MLA Madhusudhan Ghosh in April last year. Both the seats are likely to witness a direct contest between the ruling Trinamool Congress and the BJP, even as the CPI(M) is trying hard to hold its ground in its erstwhile bastions.

Uluberia is one of the Lok Sabha seats in the state with nearly 40 per cent Muslim population. The TMC, which had been in power in the Uluberia since 2009, has fielded Sultan Ahmed’s wife Sajda this time. The CPI(M)-led Left Front had nominated Sabiruddin Molla whereas the Congress has fielded S K Madassar Hossain Warsi. The BJP is the only party to field Hindu candidate Anupam Mallik from the seat. Five other independents are also in the fray from the Lok Sabha constituency.

In Noapara, the TMC has fielded Sunil Singh, the CPI(M) Gargi Chatterjee. Goutam Bose of the Congress and Sandip Banerjee of the BJP are the other contestants from the seat.

Rajasthan Bye-Elections: 

The Alwar, Ajmer seats fell vacant after sitting members Mahant Chandnath (BJP), Sanwar Lal Jat (BJP) died recently. Mandalgarh Assembly seat fell vacant following the demise of MLA Kirti Kumari  last year. As per the reports, in the Alwar Lok Sabha constituency, a total of 1,987 polling booths have been set up, while in Ajmer Lok Sabha constituency, 1,925 booths have been set up for voters to exercise their franchise.

In Mandgarh assembly constituency, up to 282 booths have been set up for the voters. There are 18.27 lakh registered voters in Alwar, 18.42 lakh voters in Ajmer and 2.31 lakh voters in Mandalgarh. 11 candidates in Alwar, 23 in Ajmer and 8 candidates in Mandalgarh are in the fray. The BJP has fielded Labour Minister Jaswant Singh Yadav and former Union minister Sanwar Lal Jat’s son Ramswaroop Lamba for the Alwar and the Ajmer Lok Sabha seats, respectively, while Shakti Singh Hada is contesting the bypoll as BJP’s candidate from the Mandalgarh Assembly constituency in Bhilwara district.

The Congress named Vivek Dhakad as it’s candidate for the Mandalgarh Assembly constituency, former MLA Raghu Sharma for the Ajmer Lok Sabha seat and Karan Singh Yadav for the Alwar Lok Sabha constituency. The results of the bye-elections will be declared on February 1.

Stay tuned to for the latest news and updates