Gujarat Bypolls: Bharatiya Janata Party wins Gujarat's Maninagar seat Also Read - Monsoon Session 2020 LIVE: Contentious Farm Bills Tabled in Rajya Sabha; Cong Calls it 'Ill-conceived, Ill-timed'

Ahmedabad, Sep 16: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday won the Maninagar assembly seat in Gujarat which was vacated by then chief minister Narendra Modi.Other than Maninagar, by-polls were held in eight assembly seats in Gujarat, namely Deesa, Tankara, Khambhalia, Mangrol, Talaja, Anand, Matar and Limkheda. The last seat is reserved for tribals. Also Read - Farm Bills to be Tabled in Rajya Sabha Today; Oppn Puts United Front, BJP Seeks Support From Regional Parties | Top Points

Counting of votes is under way on these eight seats. Modi was inaugurated as prime minister in May this year. Also Read - PM Modi Likely to Hold COVID-19 Review Meeting With Chief Ministers of 7 Worst-hit States Next Week

BJP candidate from Vadodara Lok Sabha constituency, Ranjanben Bhatt is leading against her Congress rival at the end of four rounds of counting of votes for this prestigious seat.

Bhatt is ahead of Congress nominee Narendra Rawat with 88,000 votes at the end of four rounds of counting, an Election officer said.
About 1.85 lakhs votes have been counted so far in Vadodara Lok Sabha seat, the officer said. By-polls were held in Vadodara Lok Sabha constituency after Prime Minister Narendra Modi vacated this seat.