Live Updates

  • 9:12 PM IST

    Central Karnataka Elections 2018 Results: The results for Central Karnataka are out. Overall, the BJP has won 24 seats whereas, the INC has bagged 12 seats.

  • 2:08 PM IST

    Central Karnataka Elections 2018 Results: BJP has won Tirthahalli, Shikaripura, Sorab, Mudigere, Tarikere and Kadur. Meanwhile, the party is leading on Sagar, Sringeri and Chikmagalur.

  • 2:05 PM IST

    Central Karnataka Elections 2018 Results: BJP has won from Jagalur, Davanagere North, Mayakonda, Channagiri and Honnali

  • 2:01 PM IST

    Central Karnataka Election Results 2018: BJP’s chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa wins from Shikaripura by 35,397 votes.

  • 1:00 PM IST

    Central Karnataka Election Results 2018: Sharada Pooryanaik of Janata Dal (Secular) has won from Shimoga Rural.

  • 12:20 PM IST

    Central Karnataka Election Results 2018: MP Kumaraswamy of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won from Mudigere. He was contesting against Motamma of Congress.

  • 12:18 PM IST

    Central Karnataka Election Results 2018: KS Eshwarappa of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won from Shimoga. He was fielded against Congress’s KB Prasanna Kumar and HN Niranjan of JDS.

  • 11:38 AM IST

    Central Karnataka Election Results 2018: BJP Leads on 24 Seats, Congress on 11, JDS on 1

  • 11:23 AM IST

    Central Karnataka Election Results 2018: Overall picture of Karnataka shows BJP leading on 114 seats. On the other hand, Congress is ahead on 55 seats whereas, JDS is leading on 39.

Central Karnataka Election Results 2018 Latest Updates: The counting of votes for Karnataka election results 2018 will be held on May 15 i.e. on Tuesday, today. A total of 222 out of 224-Assembly constituencies of Karnataka went to polls on May 12 (Saturday). A record 72.13 per cent voter turnout was recorded. The results for 36 seats of Karnataka Vidhan Sabha that fall under Central Karnataka region will be announced today. The main contenders in the fray for Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 are the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and HD Deve Gowda-led Janata Dal Secular (JDS) which have fielded BS Yeddyurappa, Siddaramaiah and HD Kumaraswamy as their chief ministerial candidate, respectively. (Live streaming of Karnataka Polls Results) Also Read - Jammu And Kashmir: Voting Underway In 2nd Phase of DDC Polls Amid Tight Security

(Click here for Live Updates on Karnataka Elections 2018 Results) Also Read - GHMC Elections 2020: 35% Total Turnout Recorded; Counting of Votes on Dec 4

Assembly constituencies that fall under Central Karnataka region are – Hadagalli, Hagaribommanahalli, Vijayanagara, Kampli, Siruguppa, Bellary, Bellary City, Sandur, Kudligi, Molakalmuru, Challakere, Chitradurga, Hiriyur, Hosadurga, Holalkere, Jagalur, Harapanahalli, Harihar, Davanagere North, Davanagere South, Mayakonda, Channagiri, Honnali, Shimoga Rural, Bhadravati, Shimoga, Tirthahalli, Shikaripura, Sorab, Sagar, Sringeri, Mudigere, Chikmagalur, Tarikere, Kadur and Pavagada. (Karnataka Exit Polls Predict a Hung House, BJP Ahead by a Nose) Also Read - Karnataka Local Body Poll 2020 Dates Out, CHECK Full Schedule Here

The exit poll predictions for Karnataka Elections 2018 on Saturday presented a conflicting picture. Some exit polls gave the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)  an edge over the ruling Congress, others predicted that the Congress might get the most seats, making it a strong contender to form the next government in the state. An indication towards a hung Assembly was also given by some exit polls.

India Today-Axis My India exit poll has predicted that Congress is likely to win 106-118 seats with 39 per cent vote share and will be the single-largest party in Karnataka, whereas BJP will win around 79-92 seats, JD(S) and its allies will bag 22-30 seats and 1-4 seats will go into the Independents’ kitty. (Karnataka Polls: Neither Siddaramaiah, Nor Yeddyurappa Will Become Chief Minister, Claims JD(S))

On the other hand, ABP C-Voter exit poll has predicted 101-113 seats for BJP, claiming that the saffron party is likely to reach the ‘magic figure’ of 113 seats. It has predicted 82 to 94 seats for Congress, while JD(S) and others will get 18-31 seats and 1 to 8 seats respectively.

The Congress is likely to be the single largest party with 90-103 seats, the BJP second largest party with 80-93 seats. It said that JD (S) will win 30-39 seats and others 2-4 seats, predicted Times Now-VMR exit poll.

NewsX-CNX exit poll claimed that the BJP is set to be elected as the single largest party in the state, with close to 102-110 seats, followed by the Congress with 72-78 seats and JDS with 35-39 seats.

The term of current Karnataka Assembly ends on May 28. Congress had won 122 seats and the BJP 40 seats in the last Karnataka Assembly election in 2013. In Karnataka, no party since 1985 came to power for a second consecutive term.