Guwahati, August 8: The Central Government extended the ‘disturbed area’ tag on Assam, Meghalaya and Arunachal Pradesh citing various incidents of violence by insurgent groups in these states. As per the latest notification issued by them, the Armed Force (Special Powers) Act will continue in these places. Noteworthy that in May this year, the Centre declared entire Assam as a ‘disturbed area under the AFSPA for three months.

According to The Assam Tribune, the Union Home Ministry also announced that Meghalaya’s border areas lying near Assam and three districts of Arunachal Pradesh as, disturbed area under the AFSPA. With effect from August 3, entire Assam has been declared as disturbed under the AFSPA till August 31.

In another gazette notification, the Ministry said the 20 km belt in Meghalaya bordering Assam will also continue to be a ‘disturbed area’ till September 30. Three districts of Arunachal Pradesh will also be tagged ‘disturbed’.

As per the Assam Tribune report, Arunachal Pradesh’s Tirap, Changlang and Longding along with areas falling within the jurisdiction of 14 police stations in nine districts has also been declared as ‘distubed’ with effect ferom August 4 to September 30.

The Ministry cited several incidents by insurgent groups like ULFA, NDFB, NSCN (I-M), NSCN (K). According to a data presented by them, there were 75 incidents of violence in Assam alone in 2016, causing death of 33 persons, including four security personnel. 14 cases of abduction was also reported.