Top Recommended Stories

Chamkaur Sahib Constituency: In Charanjit Singh Channi’s Bastion, Here’s How Things Stand For Rivals

Punjab Assembly Election 2022: In 2017, Charanjit Singh Channi (Chief Minister of Punjab) of Indian National Congress won the seat by defeating Charanjit Singh from Aam Aadmi Party with a margin of 12308 votes.

Updated: January 30, 2022 4:54 PM IST

By News Desk | Edited by Victor Dasgupta

Chamkaur Sahib Constituency: In Charanjit Singh Channi's Bastion, Here's How Things Stand For Rivals
Chamkaur Sahib Constituency: Seat to go to polls on Feb 20

Chamkaur Sahib Constituency, Punjab: Punjab has the highest percentage of the Scheduled Castes population in India, yet the community has not witnessed the rise of any strong leader across key political parties. However, ahead of the 2022 Assembly election, the Congress party made an electoral strike by appointing Charanjit Singh Channi as Chief Minister bringing the community back into focus in the political arena. Chamkaur Sahib Constituency, also known as CM Channi’s bastion, will go to polls on February 20. In 2017, Charanjit Singh Channi (Chief Minister of Punjab) of Indian National Congress won the seat by defeating Charanjit Singh of the Aam Aadmi Party with a margin of 12308 votes.

Also Read:

This time, the Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Darshan Singh Shivjot to contest against the incumbent chief minister. Chamkaur Sahib is one of the 117 constituencies of the Punjab Legislative Assembly in the state of Punjab and lies under the Rupnagar district (reserved for member of the Scheduled Castes).

You may like to read

Zee Opinion Poll Predicts Hung Assembly In Punjab:

Punjab may be heading for a hung assembly with Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) emerging as the single largest party in the state, predicted Zee News-DesignBoxed Opinion Poll.  As per the pre-poll survey, AAP and Congress are projected to win 36-39 and 35-38 seats respectively in the state, which will vote in single-phase on Feb 20. But despite the lead in vote share, AAP may not win a majority out of 117 seats.

Candidates For 2022 Assembly Election- Chamkaur Sahib

  • Charanjit Singh Channi (INC)
  • Darshan Singh Shivjot (BJP)
  • Dr Charanjit Singh (AAP)
  • AIG Harmohan Singh Sandhu (SAD)

Here’s the complete schedule for Punjab Assembly Polls:

  • Issue of notification: January 21
  • Last date of notification: January 28
  • Scrutiny of nomination: January 29
  • Last date of withdrawal of candidature: January 31
  • Date of poll:  February 20
  • Counting of votes: March 10


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Charanjit Singh ChanniINCWinner61,06042.00%12,308
Charanjit SinghAAPRunner Up48,75233.53%
Justice Nirmal SinghSAD3rd31,45221.63%
Rajinder SinghBSP4th1,6101.11%
None Of The AboveNOTA5th9110.63%
Harjinder SinghPDEMP6th5870.40%
Jagdish SinghIND7th4280.29%
Parminder KaurAPPA8th3320.23%
Shinderpal SinghJJJKP9th2600.18%


Candidate’s NamePartyLevelVotesVote Rate %Margin
Charanjit Singh ChanniINCWinner61,06042%12,308
Charanjit SinghAAPRunner Up48,75233.53%
Charanjit Singh ChanniINCWinner54,64041%3,659
Jagmeet KaurSADRunner Up50,98139%
Charanjit Singh ChanniINDWinner37,94642%1,758
Satwant KaurSADRunner Up36,18840%
Satwant KaurSADWinner33,51146%9,098
Bhag SinghINCRunner Up24,41333%
Satwant KaurSADWinner40,34956%26,144
Bhag SinghSAD(M)Runner Up14,20520%
Shamsher SinghINCWinner3,64148%935
Gurmukh SinghBSPRunner Up2,70635%
Bhag SinghINCWinner19,92834%1,794
Bimal KaurINDRunner Up18,13431%
Satwant KaurSADWinner23,35252%5,075
Karnail SinghINC(I)Runner Up18,27741%
Satwant KaurSADWinner29,22362%11,760
Prithvi Singh AzadINCRunner Up17,46337%

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

Published Date: January 28, 2022 4:54 PM IST

Updated Date: January 30, 2022 4:54 PM IST