New Delhi, March 19: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and YSR Congress will push for taking up their notices of no-confidence motion against Narendra Modi-led NDA government in Lok Sabha on Monday. YSR Congress’ Y V Subba Reddy wrote to the Lok Sabha secretariat to put notice for the motion in the revised list of business for today. “Under Rule 198(B) of chapter XVII of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of business in Lok Sabha, I hereby give notice to move the following motion in the House on 19.03.2018,” Reddy said in the letter. Also Read - PM Modi Reviews State of Economy With FM Sitharaman

Earlier last week, when their notices were not accepted, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar had argued that they could not be due to the House being not in order, with members of several parties raising slogans in the Well. Also Read - PM Modi Takes Stock of Financial Sector, Reviews Progress of Rs 20 Lakh Crore Stimulus Package

Two other key parties from South, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi and Tamil Nadu’s AIADMK, which have often cooperated with the government on its legislative business has been protesting over a host of issues, it remains uncertain if order can be restored in the lower House on Monday. Also Read - 'Proud to Support': Google Announces Rs 75,000-Crore Fund to Boost India's Digital Economy

After the Centre made it clear that it would not grant Special Category Status to Andhra Pradesh, the YSR Congress was the first to give a notice for a no-trust motion. Then the TDP, a longtime BJP ally decided to break its ties over the issue and brought a no-confidence motion of its own.

Meanwhile, both YSR and TDP have been lobbying with opposition parties for support to their respective notices. A no-confidence motion notice has to be supported by at least 50 MPs to be taken up in the House.

The TDP and YSR Congress had 25 MPs– they needed another 25, which were provided by the Congress party. The Congress has 48 MPs in the Lok Sabha, the AIADMK has 37, the CPM has nine MPs each, and the AIMIM has one MP.  The government has however expressed confidence that the notices will be defeated given its strength in Lok Sabha, where the ruling NDA has a clear majority.

(With inputs from agencies)