Chengannur By-election Result 2018: Counting is underway for the Chengannur Assembly constituency and Communist Party of India (Marxist) has taken the lead. CPM ‘s Saji Cheriyan is leading as per early trends. The number of votes recorded as of now is 4,105. Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPI(M) which has a strong foothold in the Chengannur seat and was confident of winning the bypolls may just be inching step-by-step.

Speaking on CPM leading in Chengannur, Cheriyan said,”The signs are good and victory is becoming clear because I have led in all the 14 booths which include strongholds of the Congress-led UDF.”

With the Chengannur by-election results 2018 gaining momentum, it seems Kerala CPM chief  Kodiyeri Balakrishnan’s statement might just come true. The by-election in Chengannur was necessitated after the demise of Communist Party of India (Marxist) sitting MLA KK Ramachandran Nair in January. With Lok Sabha Election 2019 a year away, the results of the Chengannur Assembly bypoll is very important for the Left Democratic Front (LDF), United Democratic Front (UDF)and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Chengannur Assembly constituency saw a voting percentage of 74.58 per cent. The key candidates who are contesting the Kerala Chengannur bypoll are Bharatiya Janata Party’s P Sreedharan Pillai, CPI-M’s Alappuzha district secretary Saji Cherian and Congress’ D Vijayakumar. While both the BJP and INC candidates are trailing, CPM is emerging as the leader.
Congress candidate D. Vijayakumar is the second position followed by the BJP’s P.S.Sreedharan Pillai.