Chengannur By-election Results 2018: Communist Party of India (Marxist), CPI(M) has won the Chengannur Assembly seat in the Kerala bypoll. Candidate Saji Cherian won the Kerala bypoll by 20,956 votes. The counting of votes was held today at 8 am in Christian College in the constituency. CPI-M had been confident of winning the Chengannur Assembly seat prior to the counting of votes as well. In fact, Kerala CPI-M chief Kdiyeri Balakrishnan had said that his party would win big while Congress and BJP will come at second and third positions respectively. Also Read - Congress Decides to Postpone Party President Election Due to Pandemic

CPI-M maintained a steady lead in the early trends and did not falter throughout the counting of votes. It was aiming for a comfortable win once it crossed the halfway mark. Cherian had even said, “The signs are good and victory is becoming clear because I have led in all the 14 booths in the first round which include strongholds of the Congress-led UDF.” Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

The Chengannur by-election results was a litmus test for all the three parties- CPI(M)-led Left Democratic Front (LDF), the Congress-led United Democratic Front and the BJP as all eyes are set upon the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. Both Congress and BJP had been keen on winning this southern seat after the Karnataka elections debacle in order to secure their position in the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Also Read - Will Himanta Sarma Outplay Sonowal to Become Assam CM? Crucial Decision Today

The Chengannur constituency located in Alappuzha district of Kerala held the elections on May 28 and a total of around 73 per cent people had voted in the bypolls. CPM legislator KK Ramachandra Nair’s death in January had all the three parties rushing to the forefront to fill in the place. CPM’s Saji Cheriyan, D Vijaykumar from Congress and PS Sreedharan Pillai from BJP are in the fray fighting this triangular fight. Also running for the assembly seat were-Rashtriya Lok Dal, Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist), Aam Aadmi Party, Ambedkarite Party of India and 10 other independent candidates.