New Delhi: Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel will expand his Cabinet on Tuesday. At least 10 MLAs likely to be inducted in Baghel’s cabinet. The new ministers will be administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Anandiben Patel at the Governor House. The oath ceremony is expected to be held at 11 am.

TS Singh Deo and Tamradhwaj Sahu had taken oath as ministers on December 17 when Baghel was sworn in as chief minister.  Former Union minister Charandas Mahant, who was one of the runner-ups for the chief minister post, four-time MLA Mohammad Akbar, former minister and OBC heavyweight Dhanendra Sahu, senior leader and former Leader of Opposition Ravindra Choubey, former minister Satyanaryan Sharma, Amitesh Shukla, Arun Vora (son of AICC General Secretary Motilal Vora) and woman leader and two time MLA Anila Bhedia are expected to take oath.

Senior tribal leaders Amarjeet Bhagat, Mohan Markam, Rampukar Singh Thakur, Kawasi Lakhma and Prem Sai Singh Tekam are believed to be in the reckoning for ministerial berths from tribal-dominated areas, sources said.

List of Probable Cabinet Ministers

  • Charandas Mahant
  • Mohammad Akbar
  • Dhanendra Sahu
  • Ravindra Choubey
  • Satyanaryan Sharma
  • Amitesh Shukla
  • Arun Vora (son of AICC General Secretary Motilal Vora)
  • Anila Bhedia
  • Amarjeet Bhagat
  • Mohan Markam
  • Rampukar Singh Thakur
  • Kawasi Lakhma
  • Prem Sai Singh Tekam

Baghel, along with state leaders of his party, met Congress chief Rahul Gandhi in Delhi on Saturday and finalised names of ministers, a party leader said on Sunday.

The Chhattisgarh cabinet can have 13 ministers at most, including the chief minister. The state has 90 assembly seats. However, the choice of a minister from Scheduled Caste (SC) community would be between State Congress Working President Shiv Kumar Daharia and Rudra Guru, they said.

Congress registered a landslide victory in recently-held Chhattisgarh assembly elections by bagging 68 seats in 90 member assembly. The BJP, which was in power in the state since 2003, won only 15 seats.