New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday released the third list of 11 candidates for upcoming Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018, which are scheduled to be held in two phases on November 12 and 20. The party announced names of candidates for 11 seats. With this list, the BJP has announced 89 candidates for the 90-seat Assembly and the only seat where the party is yet to nominate its candidate is Raipur (North), represented by Shrichand Sundrani.

The party has declined tickets to 16 sitting MLAs so far, with 14 of them having been left out in the first list. The two MLAs denied tickets on Monday are Ram Lal Chouhan from Saraipalli and Rupkumari Choudhry from Basna. In place of Chouhan, the party has fielded Shyam Tandi, while Choudhry has been replaced by D.C. Patel.

On October 21, the BJP had released its first list of candidates for the Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram Assembly elections. The party had announced names of 77 candidates for Chhattisgarh, 38 for Telangana and 13 for Mizoram.

Among the 77 candidates announced out of a total of 90 Assembly seats in Chhattisgarh, 14 are women candidates and 14 sitting MLAs have been replaced with new names. Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, who is seeking his fourth consecutive term, will be contesting from the Rajnandgaon seat.

SIAC NoName of Assembly ConstituencyName of


14PremnagarVijay Pratap Singh
27Ramanujganj (ST)Ramkishun Singh
325KotaKashi Sahu
437JaijaipurKailash Sahu
539Saraipali (SC)Shyam Tandi
640BasnaDC Patel
742MahasamundPoonam Chandrakar
845Baloda BazarTesu Dhurendhar
959Sanjari BalodPawan Sahu
1061GunderdehiDeepak Sahu
1166Vaishali NagarVidhyaratan Bhasin

On Sunday, Congress had released another list of 37 candidates for Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018. For phase 1, the party had already announced the names of candidates on 18 constituencies. A total of 72 seats will be contested in the second phase.

The first phase of polling is spread across Maoist-affected districts of Bastar, Bijapur, Dantewada, Sukma, Kondagaon, Kanker, Narayanpur and Rajnandgaon.

The counting of votes and the results will be announced on December 11. The tenure of 90-member Chhattisgarh Assembly ends on January 5, 2019.

On October 6, the election commission had announced dates for the Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Telangana Assembly elections 2018. The commission said that the counting of votes will take place on December 11.

The BJP has been in power in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, and Chhattisgarh. In Rajasthan, the party has 160 seats in the 200-member House while in Madhya Pradesh, it won 166 seats in the House. The BJP won the Chhattisgarh polls in 2013, securing 49 seats in the 91-member House while the Congress came a close second with 39 seats.