Raipur: Chhattisgarh went to polls in two phases, on November 12 and 20. Nearly 72% voter turnout was recorded in the second phase.

According to Zee Maha Exit Poll, BJP would get 42 seats while the Congress would get 43 and the BSP would get 2. Others would bag 4 seats.

As per News24-Pace Media, the Congress would emerge as the largest party by winning 45-51 seat while the BJP will get anywhere between 36 and 42 seats. Others can bag between 4 and 8 seats.

Aaj Tak-Axis has predicted 26 seats for the BJP while it has given the Congress 60 seats.

Times Now-CNX exit poll shows that the BJP will win 46 seats while the Congress will get 35 seats. JCC and Others will get 7 and 2 seats respectively.

As per Republic TV-Jan Ki Baat exit poll, the BJP will get 40-48 seats in Chhattisgarh while the Congress will win 37-43 seats. This poll says that the BSP will bag 5-6 seats while others will get 1 seat.

The battle here is between the BJP, whose Raman Singh has been the Chief Minister since 2003,  and the Congress. The two-phased elections also saw former Congress leader Ajit Jogi’s Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC) fighting for a foothold in an alliance with the Mayawati-led BSP and the Communist Party of India (CPI).

A total of 1,079 candidates were in the fray, with both the Congress and the BJP contesting all the 72 seats. The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has contested 25 seats and its ally and former Chief Minister Jogi’s Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) in 46 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party fielded candidates in 66 constituencies in the state where the BJP is in power since 2003. An electorate of over 1.5 crore, including over 77 lakh male and over 76 lakh female voters, were eligible to vote.

Among the prominent faces in the fray in the phase for the Congress were Baghel (Patan), Leader of Opposition in the Assembly T.S. Singh Deo (Ambikapur) and former Union Minister Charandas Mahant (Shakti). For the BJP, the list included state ministers Brijmohan Agrawal (Raipur City South), Rajesh Munat (Raipur City West), Amar Agrawal (Bilaspur), Prem Prakash Pandey (Bhilai Nagar).