Raipur: The Jashpur constituency of Chhattisgarh – a seat reserved for the Scheduled Tribes (ST) candidates – has been a stronghold of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the last 25 years.Also Read - Assembly Elections 2018: Congress Chief Ministers to Discuss Cabinet With Party Chief Rahul Gandhi

Even after the formation of the state in the year 2000, the BJP has won the seat in the last three assembly elections. Also Read - Assembly Election Results Not in BJP's Favour, But Cannot be Linked With 2019 Lok Sabha Polls: Amit Shah

In the 2013 assembly polls, BJP candidate Rajsharan Bhagat defeated Congress’ Sarhul Ram Bhagat by a margin of around 34,000 votes. Also Read - Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018: Bhupesh Baghel Takes Oath as Chief Minister

In the 2008 Assembly polls, BJP’s Jageswar Ram Bhagat defeated Congress candidate Vinay Kumar Bhagat by around 16,000 votes.

Click Here For All Updates on Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018

In the 2003 elections too, the Congress had to face defeat in the hands of the BJP. The former’s candidate Vikaram Bhagat lost to saffron party’s Raj Sharan Bhagat by almost 9,500 votes.

The candidate for the 2018 elections from BJP is Govindram Bhagat, from BSP is Gaganmati Bhagat, and from Congress is Vinay Kumar Bhagat.

Formerly the capital of the princely state of Jashpur, the Jashpur constituency is dominated by almost 60 per cent of advisasis.

It is believed that the BJP fields its candidate after consulting the Royal Family of Jashpur. Also, it is said that that the victory and defeat of a candidate majorly depends on the Royal Family.

Chhattisgarh is currently ruled by the BJP. Chhattisgarh has 90 Assembly seats. The BJP holds 49 seats, while INC has 39. Bahujan Samaj Party of Mayawati has 1 seat and another seat is held by an Independent candidate. Out of the 90 candidates, 51 are General candidates, 10 are from Scheduled Castes, 29 are from Scheduled Tribes.

Of the 90 elected candidates, 80 are males and 10 are females.