Raipur: The voting for the second phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018 concluded. A total of 71.93 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the second phase of polling till 6 PM.Also Read - Heavy Rains in Parts of Chhattisgarh; Gariaband, Raipur Put on High Alert

EVMs and VVPATs were sealed at the polling station in Baloda Bazar’s Simga as the second phase of voting ended. A voter-turnout of 64.8 per cent had been recorded till 5 PM, in the second phase of voting in Chhattisgarh. Polling for the second and final phase of the Chhattisgarh Assembly elections in 72 seats of 19 districts began today amid tight security, with the deployment of over one lakh police personnel. Also Read - Rajasthan Makes Misbehaviour With Toursits Cognizable Offence, Non-Bailable One For Repeated Offenders

“Voting begun at 7 am in two polling booths of the Bindranavagarh constituency (Gariaband district), while in the remaining 72 booths, polling started at 8 am,” an election official said. Also Read - 'Congress to Contest UP Assembly Election Solo Under Priyanka Gandhi's Leadership'

The Congress alleged misuse and tampering of EVM machines and a party delegation led by PL Punia approached the Election Commission in Delhi.

According to reports, the EC suspended four officials for allegedly trying to voters to vote in a party’s favour. The time of polling in 72 constituencies is from 8 am to 5 pm except in two polling booths- Amadora (booth no. 72) and Modh (no.76) in Bindranavgarh where polling is being held from 7 AM to 3 PM due to the threat posed by Naxals, he said.

Today’s voting will decide the fate of nine ministers, assembly speaker and some other prominent leaders of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as well as of the Congress.

If the first phase of polling held on November 12, 18 seats of eight Naxal-affected districts saw a voter turnout of over 76 per cent. The counting of votes will be held on December 11.

Eyeing a fourth consecutive term, the BJP has set a target of winning 65 plus seats in the 90-member Assembly, while the Congress is seeking to end its 15-year exile from power in the tribal-dominated state.

For the first time, the state will see a three-way battle between the BJP, the Congress and the coalition between the Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), former chief minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and the Communist Party of India (CPI).

While Jogi is seen a kingmaker in the state where the vote share difference between the BJP and the Congress was less than one per cent in 2013, the former has denied possibilities of any post-poll alliance with the saffron party.

Polling will be held from 8 am to 5 pm in these seats of central and north Chhattisgarh where as many as 1,079 candidates, including 72 each from the BJP and the Congress, are in fray.

For the second phase of polls, there are 1,53,85,983 voters, including 77,46,628 men, 76,38,415 women and 940 of the third gender. As many as 19,296 polling booths have been set up for the second phase, the official said.

The highest number of 46 contestants are in the Raipur City South constituency, while the lowest number of six contestants are in the Bindranavagarh seat.

Apart from the deployment of one lakh police personnel, extra vigil is being maintained in Naxal-affected Gariaband, Dhamtari, Mahasamund, Kabirdham, Jashpur and Balrampur districts.

The BJP has retained state Assembly Speaker Gaurishankar Agrawal from the Kasdol seat, which he had won against Congress’ Rajkamal Singhaniya in the 2013 elections.

The Congress has this time fielded a fresh face, Shankutala Sahu, from the seat.

The BJP has this time fielded nine ministers Brijmohan Agrawal (Raipur City South), Rajesh Munat (Raipur City West), Amar Agrawal (Bilaspur), Bhaiyyalal Rajwade (Baikunthpur), Ramsevak Paikra (Pratappur), Punnulal Mohile (Mungeli), Prem Prakash Pandey (Bhilai Nagar), Dayaldas Baghel (Nawagarh) and Ajay Chandrakar (Kurud), and also state chief Dharamlal Kaushik (Bilha).

Congress state chief Bhupesh Baghel (Patan), Leader of Opposition T S Singhdeo (Ambikapur), Congress MP from Durg Lok Sabha seat Tamradhwaj Sahu (Durg rural), and former Union minister Charandas Mahant (Shakti) are among the key opposition party candidates in the fray.

A three-way fight is expected in several seats of Bilaspur division where Ajit Jogi’s party and the BSP have a considerable presence.

Jogi is contesting from the Marwahi segment where the BJP and the Congress have fielded new faces Archana Porte and Gulab Singh, respectively.

The Kota seat is also likely to witness a three-cornered contest among incumbent MLA Renu Jogi (JCC-J), Vibhor Singh (Congress) and Kashi Sahu (BJP).

In the Akaltara seat, Ajit Jogi’s daughter-in-law Richa Jogi (BSP) is likely to give a tough fight to Saurabh Singh (BJP) and incumbent MLA Chunnilal Sahu (Congress).

Of the 72 seats, 46 are for the general category, while nine are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 17 for Scheduled Tribes candidates.

Of these seats, the BJP had won 43 seats in the 2013 polls while the Congress had bagged 27. One seat each was won by the BSP and an independent candidate.

During the poll campaign, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP president Amit Shah and other senior saffron party leaders targeted Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and his family and accused the opposition party of misleading people during its 50-year rule in the country.

The BJP also recalled the development works and achievements of its 15-year rule in the state.

The Congress, however, raised farmers’ issues during the poll campaign and promised them loan waiver, bonus on paddy procurement and setting up food processing unit if it wins the election.

It accused the prime minister of remaining “silent” on the “corruption charges” against Chief Minister Raman Singh in the alleged Rs 36,000-crore civil supply scam and not acting against the chief minister’s son Abhishek Singh in the Panama Papers case.

The chief minister and his son had earlier denied the allegations against them.

Live Updates

  • 7:22 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: 71.93 Per Cent voting recorded till 6 PM.

  • 6:09 PM IST

  • 5:43 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: 64.8 per cent voting recorded till 5 PM.

  • 4:36 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: 58.47 per cent voting recorded till 4 PM in the second phase of voting.

  • 3:15 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: 45.2 per cent voting recorded till 2:55 PM in the second phase of voting.

  • 2:50 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: 35 per cent voter turnout recorded till 2 PM.

  • 1:21 PM IST

  • 1:20 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: 25 per cent voter turnout recorded till 12.30 PM. Voting on 72 seats is currently underway.

  • 1:20 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: According to Zee News sources, a voter died of attack outside booth number 128 after casting his vote. He has been identified as 65-year-old Prem Prakash Dikshit.

  • 12:45 PM IST

    Chhattisgarh Second Phase Voting Live Updates: Acting on Congress’ complaint, EC suspends four officials for misleading voters to vote in a party’s favour.