Raipur: The voting for Marwahi Assembly constituency was held on November 20. It is one of the 90-Assembly seats in the state that went to polls in the second phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018. The seat comes under Korba Lok Sabha constituency and is reserved for Scheduled Tribe (ST) candidate. The winner Marwahi Assembly constituency will be announced on December 11. The results for Chhattisgarh will also be announced on the same day, along with four other states – Telangana, Rajasthan, Mizoram and Madhya Pradesh.Also Read - Mayawati Says 'Poll Gimmick' as Charanjit Singh Channi Takes Oath as Punjab's First Dalit Sikh CM

Marwahi Assembly constituency or Marwahi Vidhan Sabha constituency was won by Indian National Congress’s (INC) Amit Jogi in 2013 Assembly Elections in Chhattisgarh. He had won it against the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) Samira Paikra by over 46,000 votes. Amit Jogi is the son of former chief minister of Chhattisgarh Ajit Jogi who shunned association with the Congress earlier this year to float Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (JCC) party. Also Read - Charanjit Channi Takes Oath as First Dalit CM of Punjab Amid Fresh Infighting, Gets 2 Deputies

In 2013, Congress’s Amit Jogi had gained 82,909 votes while, BJP Samira Paikra could manage to get only 36,659 votes. Earlier in 2008, the election from the seat was won by Ajit Jogi against Dhyan Singh Porte of the BJP. Also Read - Watch | BJP's Kirit Somaiya Detained at Karad Railway Station; Entry Banned in Kolhapur

For Chhattisgarh Assembly Election 2018, the Congress has fielded its Gulab Singh Raj. He will face a tough contest against BJP’s Archana Porte and JCC’s Ajit Jogi, among others.

The voting for the first phase, in which 18 constituencies in eight Naxal-affected districts of Chhattisgarh went to polls was held on November 12. The second phase voting was held on 72 seats in 19 districts on November 20.

The tenure of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly ends on January 5, 2019. Currently, Chhattisgarh is ruled by the BJP. In the 90-member Assembly, the party holds 49 seats. The Congress, on the other hand, has 39 seats, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) of Mayawati has 1 seat and Independent candidates hold 1 seat. After the sweep for the third straight term, Raman Singh was sworn-in as Chief Minister of the state in 2013.